The Color Purple

I’m doing something I don’t usually do today.  I’m wearing a certain color for a cause.

Specifically, a purple tie for World Alzheimer’s Day.  Why purple?  I don’t know.  But a colleague whose family has been touched by Alzheimer’s tweeted about it earlier today, and it struck a chord.

This is a new gambit for many advocacy groups and charities.  (“Wear brown for Stamp Out Hiccups Day!”)  The contrarian in me doesn’t like to be told what to wear, even if it’s for a good cause.  But in this case, no one really asked.  It just appealed to me.

Maybe I’m afraid of losing my mind.

But as many who know me might suggest, that ship may have sailed some time ago.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Health, It's all about me, Noticed and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Color Purple

  1. Brenda says:

    You’re such a nice man, good cause to wear purple for!!! Looks Good! Oh! it’s nice to have you back, seems like you were gone for such a long time!!

  2. Kirk says:

    Or maybe you’re just getting soft, Gerry. Either way, it was a class move on your part.

    Nicely done.

  3. Linda says:

    Oh my favorite color! But I’m working tonight, so I missed seeing it. I’m of that age where I’m forgetting a lot of stuff, so Alzheimer’s is on my mind a lot. I sure they find a cure very, very soon. Nice having you back.

  4. Mary says:

    Nice touch Gerry, it’s so much better when it comes from the heart and not just jumping on the band wagon. My uncle passed away in June from alzheimers and it was a very different uncle in the end, but that’s why we cherish our memories of the wonderful times.

  5. Melissa says:

    My kids must have gotten that memo to wear purple as well. I came home from work last night to discover they had fingerpainted the cat purple.

Leave a Reply

