Small World

The big blue marble seems to get smaller every day. 

When we first started traveling out of the country, I would look forward to reading the daily International Herald Tribune, if I could find a copy.  Maybe get two-day-old scores.

But a week ago tonight, I watched part of the Jets-Ravens game.  At a restaurant in Cusco, Peru.

All of our hotel rooms had satellite television and high-speed wireless internet.  I followed developing news stories (Perez, Petit) on Twitter when I did have the laptop on.

I suppose, albeit half-heartedly, that being “connected” is a good thing.  But at Machu Picchu, I looked up, saw this woman, and knew where to draw the line.

You are looking at one of the wonders of the world on a spectacularly clear day, and you have to make a phone call????

Maybe the world has gotten too small.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Diatribes, Digital World, Noticed, Travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Small World

  1. Li'l Em-Kel says:

    She’s probably calling a friend to say, “Hey, I just saw GERRY BROOKS!”

  2. Mary says:

    I agree with you Gerry, people are so busy either sending or receiving that (important) call that they’re missing the simple beauty that surrounds us. Glad your home safe and sound, but will miss those incredible pictures.

  3. Graham says:

    And that’s why our cell is only for emergencies. All day and night I talk to people and while I truly love what I do, I also truly love QUIET time.
    We were at a wedding a few years ago and during the ceremony the Best Man’s cell phone rang……..guess he missed the sign that says “please turn all cell phones off in church”.
    Again, that’s why our cell is for emergencies only.
    (although I have to admit we sometimes call the office when we are out to leave ourselves messages………but that’s just old age, not the cell age.)

  4. Nancy says:

    Is that Yoko Ono making the call?

  5. The Incas, in their infinite wisdom, thought about planting cell phone towers there. But they thought better of it. They’re gone. We remain. What’s wrong with that picture?

Leave a Reply

