Why I Fly

Because, at eyeball level with the clouds, I can look out the window at, in this case, the snow-capped Andes Mountains.

For someone who can be as cynical and indifferent as anyone, I’m somewhat relieved that I can still look out the window of an airplane and be in complete awe that I’m in a metal tube hurtling through the sky.

I look down and wonder who and what I’m looking at.  Where are they?  What are they doing at this very moment I’m six miles over their heads? 

And that’s all it is.  A moment. 

A thoughtful, enjoyable moment.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Why I Fly

  1. hendu says:

    That first pic is unreal. What a nice pilot to get you so close to the mts. You must have a connection

Leave a Reply

