In Praise of Pisco

One of the more pleasant surprises of our trip was the food and drink of Peru.

Whether in Lima, Cusco or Urubamba, the restaurants were fabulous.

One Lima hot spot.

As great as the food was, Peruvian wines seemed to be a work in progress.  We sampled, but stuck mainly to Chilean and Argentine wines with our meals.

But then there was the Pisco Sour.  The national cocktail of Peru.

Chin Chin!

Pisco is a grape-based liquor.  Taken by itself as an after-dinner drink, it’s an acquired taste, similar to grappa.

But a pisco sour…mmmm.  If you get a chance, try one. 

Damn, now I want one.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, Travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to In Praise of Pisco

  1. Wendy says:

    Sounds good to me! YUM!!

  2. Bruce says:

    I think you hit it right on the head with the wine assessment. I Went to a tasting recently and tasted some Peruvian wine. It is a work in progress.

  3. Grappa = Fire Water, in my book. Sounds like Pisco should be the next chapter. My husband and I are making Limoncello for the first time this weekend. I’ll give you the two cups of lemon juice you need to make a couple Pisco Sours!

    • Gerry says:

      My wife calls grappa “gasoline.”
      We have a friend who makes limoncello who says the key is using organic lemons. I have no idea, but I know his limoncello is fabulous. Good luck!

      • Your wife is a smart woman. Even with an abundance of Whole Foods in Connecticut, there is no abundance of organic lemons this time of year. Well, my husband tells me they’re really tiny at Whole Foods. This is becoming very problematic for us. If we have to settle for non-organic lemons, we might have to call our brand Junker Limoncello. And then Blumenthal can help protect us with some sort of new Lemon Law.

      • Gerry says:

        Something tells me it’ll be delicious anyway. It always tastes better when you make it yourself. Well, usually.

Leave a Reply

