Faces of Peru

As we enter the final phase of our wonderful journey, here are some of the more memorable faces of a nation that has been, in so many ways, such a pleasant surprise.

The faces of experience at a Sunday market.

Ricardo Behar, a fabulous chef who wants to wow Anthony Bourdain.

Peru's version of "The Old Man in the Mountain."

A llama ready for its closeup.

A kid hustling "his" paintings outside the hotel. We bought three.

A girl carries on the tradition. What a great face.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Noticed, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Faces of Peru

  1. Linda says:

    The greatest asset of any country is its people. Thank you for sharing some wonderful pictures of Peru’s colorful citizens. Have a safe trip home.

  2. Cat says:

    Well I thank you Mr Brooks for a wonderful adventure.
    I really think you should become the next Robin Leach.
    You did a great job educating me in these past two weeks.
    I enjoyed it a great deal.
    The llama is just too cute..
    We don’t really have the beauty of Peru, however we do have a news station with an empty chair, waiting for one of Ct’s finest to return:
    You two have a very safe trip home..

  3. Wendy says:

    More wonderful pictures and this time showing the people of the country. What a wonderful trip; thanks for the ride! As for being the next Robin Leach…NOT! Don’t even think about it! We , CT, need you right where you are!

  4. Mary says:

    I know you’re not back yet, but can’t wait to see where we’re off to next 🙂

  5. pete says:

    HORRAY! MORE LLAMAS! 😀

  6. Great pics, Gerry. And I’ll bet you’re hearing a lot of great Peruvian music. Love that stuff, a la Paul Simon’s El Condor Pasa, which in Spanish means if I could.

    • Gerry says:

      The music really is great. But one of our guides had El Condor Pasa on the only CD he had in the car. I think I heard it a dozen times. If I run into Paul Simon, I might punch him out.

  7. More beautiful photos! Thanks again for sharing.

  8. Pingback: Lima? Never bean! « Big Happy Nothing

  9. Funny. I almost ran into Paul Simon when I was at Lorne Michaels Broadway Video doing some post production work on a TV commercial. He was there working on a music video. We just missed each other in the break room. He was in there when my art director was in there after I was.

    That’s my near miss Paul Simon story. Next time I have a chance of running into him, I’ll punch him out for you. He’s a small guy and turns 70 next year. I think I can take him.

Leave a Reply

