Greetings From Machu Picchu

Words and pictures can’t adequately describe this wonder of the world.  So these words will be brief, and I’ll offer a few pictures of the journey from the city of Cusco on the Hiram Bingham train, and the destination, the ruins of this ancient Incan settlement.

A dance before boarding the train.

The view from the back of the observation car.

Machu Picchu. The ruins Hiram Bingham rediscovered in 1911.

A closer look at some of the ruins.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Greetings From Machu Picchu

  1. G.M.Duclos says:

    Great pictures!

  2. Matt says:

    Great stuff! Thanks for sharing. And welcome back!

  3. W-O-W!!! I’ve seen pics before…one of my brothers went…But everytime I see it…it takes my breath away. Hopefully will make it there or too it’s sister site one day.

    Have fun and take it all in for me. 🙂

    Peace & 🙂

    Marie

  4. Wendy says:

    Wonderful pictures ~ breath taking ones! Have known the Bingham family most of my life. Hiram Bingham was a fascinating individual. Great history there! Continue enjoying and dancing!

    • Gerry says:

      I’m amazed he hiked up here without the modern amenities. But what’s astounding is that the Incas built this place and it’s still standing in excellent shape.

  5. Mary says:

    What beauty, thanks for keeping us in the loop. You look like vacation agrees with you.

  6. Wonderful photos! Thanks for sharing! What a great adventure and vacation. Enjoy!

  7. Pingback: Lima? Never bean! « Big Happy Nothing

Leave a Reply

