Greetings From Peru

Yes, Peru.  Why?  Why not.

I hadn’t planned to check in so soon, but I just had to share a moment from Lima.  We were outside the Presidential Palace just as the Changing of the Guard was getting underway.

A formally uniformed brass band was behind an imposing fence.  Armed guards were everywhere.  And the band started playing.

She:  “Isn’t that…”

Me:  “The theme to Hawaii Five-O.”

We stood there, amused and dumbfounded.  No less so when the band segued into “Let’s Dance,” the 1962 hit by Chris Montez.

I’d run down the entire playlist, but I didn’t take notes.

I think we’re gonna like this place.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, Noticed, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Greetings From Peru

  1. G.M.Duclos says:

    Got a chuckle from me on that one. Hmm, makes me want to check it out. have fun, oh you are. 😉

  2. Cat says:

    Wow how cool is this,,,
    Your the real live version of “where’s waldo”
    Your a lucky man Mr Brooks… “-)
    You and the Mrs have a great time…
    Gosh I’m so jealous… ;( ~~~~~~~~~~~~

  3. Mary says:

    What’s not to like, armed guards, marching bands and no work 🙂 Maybe they’re premiering the new Hawaii Five O movie.

  4. Mike says:

    Peru- a perfect getaway country! Enjoy your time there ( as well as the pisco sours!)

  5. Linda says:

    Oh my! First of all – what an exciting destination. It’s hard to picture the band playing those songs with the backdrop of a soldier, gun and steel bars! Do you think maybe they were interpreted differently by Peruvians, or maybe they were catering to Americans (although they must have really old television shows in Peru). Only you could run into a situation like this! Can’t wait to hear about the rest of your trip! Enjoy!

  6. Hawaii Five-0? Book ’em, Danno – for your next party!

Leave a Reply

