Whistle a Happy Tune

I was sitting at my desk Friday, tapping out a few scripts, when I heard it coming from behind me.

Whistling.

It could only be Phil Speliopoulos, with whom I’ve worked for 17 years.  Phil’s the only whistler at the station. 

You don’t hear much random whistling of a tune anymore.  Not a clue why.  Maybe it’s a lost art, if it was ever an art to begin with.

But I will offer up a whistling classic.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Living in the Past, Noticed, People and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Whistle a Happy Tune

  1. Shar says:

    Great, just what I needed this morning to hear in my ear. LOL It will be stuck there all day.

  2. Mary says:

    The memories that brings back, life was simple in Mayberry. Can’t offend anyone with that tune.

  3. Wendy says:

    Oh, goody! Being a whistler (drives my kids nuts) I shall be whistling not only that tune, but also “I Whistle a Happy Tune”. Thanks, Gerry!

  4. I had a friend once who, when he was driving, whistled along with the tunes on the radio. As I said, I had a friend once. I shot him.

    But I do like The Colonel Bogey March from Bridge Over The River Kwai

  5. Cat says:

    With what some call music today, its hard to imagine Rap or Hip Hop whistled..
    Won’t click on Andy’s tune, have 8 more hours of work to go and don’t think the patients would appreciate… I’ll wait for the long ride back to Ct.. always looking for ways to amuse myself on the way back.. “-)

  6. Aunt Bea would NEVER tolerate whistling!

  7. Kathy says:

    At some point in time, I don’t remember when or where I heard it, I heard the words to the Andy Griffith theme. All I remember is the first line: “Go grab your fishing pole and meet me at the fishing hole.” And don’t think I haven’t been singing that in my head over and over!

Leave a Reply

