Just Shoot Me

I thought having a root canal would be more fun than a 90-minute meeting today on company benefits.

But I just found out I get to have a real, emergency root canal just before the meeting!

Now I get to find out which one really is more fun.

I am so damn lucky!

UPDATE:  The root canal was infinitely more enjoyable than the meeting.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Diatribes, It's all about me and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Just Shoot Me

  1. Linda says:

    I had a root canal many years ago. I had heard so many bad things about them, that by the time I got into the chair for the procedure, I was so freaked out I started crying. Turned out, it wasn’t so bad after all. The root canal might be more fun if your benefits meeting is about the downsizing of your benefits! In any case, good luck with both.

  2. Gerry's Mentor says:

    I will be tuning in to check for excessive droolling.

  3. Joan says:

    Bummer–hope it’s not too painful.

  4. Mary says:

    You’ll feel so much better after, after the meds kick in.

  5. Wendy says:

    I’ve had 3 of ’em….always feel better afterward. Take the medications they give you for pain…”better living through chemistry”, you know! Wear a bib when doing the news; it’ll catch the drool! Sorry you have to spend your day like that, though.

  6. I know you come on at 11. But maybe tonight you could delay it a few hours and come on at tooth hurty.

    I have no shame.

  7. amyparmenter says:

    i’m still thinking the root canal may beat the meeting… with or without novacaine?

  8. Shar says:

    I had been working for my dad when I had to have root canal as well as have a wisdom tooth pulled. My dad told me I had to come right to work after the dental work. I stopped off to get a popsicle on the way to my family’s business.

    I was ok until the Novacaine wore off. I thought I’d scream but the thought of opening my mouth made things worse. I took one of the pills the Dr. gave me, and within an hour I felt a ‘little’ happier.

    Hope you feel better.

  9. Gerry,
    I’ve been there- the meeting would be much easier to take!
    But, on the bright side, you should be fun to watch tonight on the news!

    Shar- good one. That was hysterical!

  10. Cat says:

    As always, turned in to watch the best in the biz give me the news of the day.
    Not once did you sound like Daffy Duck, your a pro Gerry.
    I had one once, all done in a day and I have to admit, when the novacaine wore off, it felt like the tooth was on fire,,,, The next day it was okay. Just remember to swish with warm salt and water “-)
    Shar, that was a great episode on Cosby, that and when he went for the hearing test..
    Feel better Gerry, safe drive home now

  11. Shar says:

    Cat,
    I remember that also. Then again, I go crazy when I see the skit that Tim Conway and Harvey Corman (sp?) with Tim being the dentist and instead of giving Harvey the novacaine he ended up giving himself a few shots of it.

    Gerry, just remember we aren’t laughing at you, we are laughing with you!

  12. Cat says:

    Indeed, what Shar said Gerry….

  13. Sue D says:

    Laugh out loud funny – remember Tim Conway and Harvey Korman? The Dentist 🙂

  14. Graham says:

    A few years ago I did a “live on tape” cooking show at the Big E while on heavy cold medications…….what a disaster! Put the wrong ingredients in the first recipe, used some of the items for the second show in the first, didn’t describe the dishes very well etc, etc, etc. I think drooling on myself was the least of my problems that day.
    By the time we got to the second show most of the meds had worn off and it went it bit better, but what a day…….. no more Sudifed for me!

    • Gerry says:

      As much as I joke about it, I’ve only done one thing under the influence: a holiday story with the State Police on the affects of alcohol. Years ago. I was carefully monitored…and much to my surprise, more than a few viewers reamed me a new a**hole because I was a “bad” influence. Go figure.

  15. RJM says:

    You have to be careful with what you wish for!

Leave a Reply

