Full of Good Advice

Sometimes you just want to blurt out an extra line to a story on the news.  For instance, this is from our 11pm broadcast:
 
A HEADS-UP IF YOU OWN AN OLDER JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE.
THE FEDS ARE LOOKING INTO THE FUEL TANKS ON THE 1993-TO-2004 MODEL YEARS…BECAUSE THEY MAY BE A FIRE RISK IN A CRASH.
THIS IS NOT A RECALL…AND A CHRYSLER SPOKESMAN SAYS OWNERS DON’T HAVE TO DO ANYTHING AT THIS TIME.
 
And it took every ounce of every fiber in my being not to add, “LIKE GET IN AN ACCIDENT THAT COULD TURN YOU INTO A HUMAN TORCH.”
 
Yes, it’s all part of being a proud professional.  (And as it turned out, we dropped the story from the program.)

 

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, News, TV Stuff and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Full of Good Advice

  1. Reminiscent of the Ford Pinto problem.
    Remember that?
    Yikes!
    So glad we got an Acura instead of one of these Molitov cocktails on wheels.

  2. Li'l Em-Kel says:

    Damn!

    That eliminates one of my favorite highway reprisal techniques.

  3. pete says:

    the feds look in to lots of things. they’re probably looking into what i’m typing right now. i don’t know that it is necessarily newsworthy…

  4. Amy says:

    I know! Isn’t that funny? I always want to say ‘Back to you Gerry…you brilliant charming man.’ Luckily I’m a professional! :0)

  5. Mary says:

    Well a big THANKS for the heads up Gerry, I have been hounded by my husband to get a new Jeep, but my 03 is mine free and clear, but I think you might have tipped the scales. I guess they’d rather wait till someone gets hurt, god forbid they put the consumer first. Maybe you could have a bubble for your thought during broadcasts. Have a good day.

Leave a Reply

