Thanks for the Mammaries

I don’t want to.  Really.  But I must.

I just looked up at CBS and saw Charlie Sheen in the sack with 2 hot babes with humongous breasts on “Two and a Half Men.”

An hour ago, the proud Peacock featured former Miss USA and Miss Universe winners competing on “Minute to Win It” wearing…well…not much.  And what there was was really tight.  They were, of course, competing for their favorite charities. (Always cracks me up.)  And that led into the Miss Universe “pageant,” in which the contestants are wearing dresses that are really, really tight (as I write this).

Not to be outdone, ABC is offering something called “Bachelor Pad.”  The last time I looked, there were four people in a hot tub and the women weren’t wearing anything at all.

This makes FOX the highbrow network of the night, which means some level of hell has frozen over.

To be sure, I do not object to looking at beautiful women.  But I have to ask: when did the women’s movement die such an ugly death?

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Diatribes, Noticed, TV Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Thanks for the Mammaries

  1. G.M.Duclos says:

    Hmmm, wow! I should watch more television.

  2. Beckie says:

    And just think, Lucy and Ricky weren’t allowed to sleep in the same bed.

  3. Mary says:

    All I can say is WOW, as a mother of 2 girls I hate to see that skin sells. It’s opposite everything my husband and I have been teaching them. We want them independant, and to be able to support themselves. What I see on all channels is hike up the skirt or shorten the shirt. It would have been a lot cheaper than 4 years of college.

    • Gerry says:

      This really strikes me because my first full-time boss was a very strong, independent woman. Since then, I’ve been surrounded by (and married to) strong, independent women. So to see a big T&A comeback on TV is a bit surprising. Everything is now influenced by the internet…so you can take it from there.

  4. Linda says:

    I have two grown daughters. We used to watch TV shows together until some time before they reached their teens. I remember being able to watch and laugh at Third Rock from the Sun. It was a great family show. Then the next season it suddenly was all about sex and seeing who could get who into bed – including the” teenage” boy. And TV shows in general took a turn down a road I didn’t want my children to go. What’s really scary is that no one seems to be protesting the kind of shows that are out there now during prime viewing time for young children. If no one watched these shows, they wouldn’t survive the ratings and they’d die a natural death. But apparently, people are watching. What does that say about the parents raising children now? It’s no wonder 11 year olds are having sex, and that kids have a very distorted point of view of life. Then you have “heroes” like Tiger Woods and Roger Clemens mixed in and it makes me very, very scared for our future.

    • Joan says:

      I’m REALLY glad that my kids are grown and I don’t have to worry about what they are watching because EVERYTHING on TV these days is about sex. Even if you are watching one of the CSIs, the female (who may have an important job) is wearing attire that shows either her cleavage or her bare arms (which really isn’t that bad), but it was just so obvious what they wanted you to look at. And it’s that way on MOST shows these days. I actually stopped watching Two and Half Men a few years back because, even though it really can be funny, I got a little bit tired of every single joke having to do with having/or not having sex! It was funnier when they had jokes that didn’t revolve around that subject only.

    • Beckie says:

      I have a soon-to-be 2-yr-old daughter. Before she was born, I hadn’t watched kids tv since I taught preschool more than 10 yrs. ago. I am also a HUGE Disney-phile. Mickey is my idol. 🙂
      Naturally, I expected we’d be watching LOTS of Disney Channel and ABC Family, with PBS/Sprout (Yay! Sesame Street!) peppered in between. I was never a fan of Nickolodeon shows.
      Was I ever wrong!!! I am VERY disappointed with Disney (and that included Family, since it is own by Disney.) Ever watch Hannah Montana or Suite Life? How about The Secret Life of the American Teenager (where the main character is a high school student who is pregnant…and now has a baby.)
      Sesame Street is also totally different that it was when I was teaching. It’s all Elmo (who thankfully, she doesn’t like) and rapping. I did some research and the show when thru a huge revamping after Jim Henson’s estate was settled. Most of the shows on Sprout don’t interest her, except good ol’ Barney. I can’t find Mister Rogers anywhere!
      Oddly, her favorite shows (and very acceptable to us) are on Nick Jr. They are doing some very good quality kids shows. Blue’s Clues was just the beginning. Yes, some of them drive us insane (Yo Gabba Gabba) and those are usually the ones that are her favorite. 🙂

  5. Li'l Em-Kel says:

    Is it me or is it warm in here?

  6. ” I see everything and hear nothing. ”

    That sounds like something a character in a Woody Allen flick might say about his sex life.

    Those shows sound disgusting, Gerry. Could you send me a program schedule for them?

  7. Gerry says:

    Thank you all for your comments. Yes, even the boys. Because, after all, boys will be boys. Including me.

Leave a Reply

