What’s that Sound?

RAIN! 

I’m sitting here having a second cup listening to the rhythm of the falling rain, telling me just what a…(I’ll stop there.  Most of you are too young to get the reference.)

As I look at the dead leaves and what’s left of the lawn, I also see happy flowers and shrubs. 

See? Don’t the flowers look happy?  Listen closely.  You might hear them giggling.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Noticed, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to What’s that Sound?

  1. hendu says:

    My question is what are you having a second cup of if you hear plants giggling?

  2. Mary says:

    My yellow daisies were beaming, I love the smell of rain. Our wells are happy too.

  3. Cat says:

    Got to love the Cascades and no, never think you a fool Gerry.
    Love Walking In The Rain, on a day like this, its so calm and serene, I have the beach to myself, its wonderful.
    Going to bake cupcakes today (or giving it my best shot), but I know one thing for sure, the frosting will taste just as great with or without them,,
    Betty Crocker has never let me down yet…….
    Nice flowers bty..
    Have a great day.

  4. Mark Lopa says:

    Wow…rain? I almost forgot what that was. Should I get the sump pump ready just in case?

  5. Beckie says:

    It was before my time, but *I* got the reference! I like music of all kinds (except country.) Always have. I come from a musical family. I’m trying to instill that love in my toddler, though so far, it hasn’t been difficult.
    Since she was born, rather than sing her a lullaby, I sing her My Girl. She’s also partial to The Temptations, Bon Jovi and Beethoven. Yes, quite the combination. 🙂

  6. Linda says:

    1963 Rhythm of the Rain. Reminds me of what else can cause you to see and hear happy, giggling plants.

  7. Ok, so I’m going to hear “Listen to the rhythm of the falling rain, telling me just what a fool I’ve been”. Thanks Gerry!

    I used to sing ‘My Guy’ to my son when he let me. He always loved ‘Hit the Road Jack’ and used to call a radio station when he was little and request them to play that song. I’m not sure if it was due to his dad and I being divorced or not. 🙂

    Loved the picture of the flowers and yes I hear them giggling all the time. Flowers giggling, grass in the breeze wiggling.

  8. Jeff says:

    Last night we had dinner under the big umbrella by the pool. The rain was drizzling around us, and our golden retriever happily stood guard under the table, hoping that a slip might avail her of a taste of grilled tenderloin tip.

    Gentle rain in the summertime is magic. If my herb garden starts giggling though, I’ll have to check and see what varieties I planted.

    Jeff

Leave a Reply

