Have a Good Weekend!

Let me help get you off to a good start. 

Happy 65th birthday, Steve Martin!

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Have a Good Weekend!

  1. Li'l Em-Kel says:

    Aristophanes it ain’t, but what the hell. It’s beer night at my house. Even Lenny Bruce would be funny.

  2. My guess is that if Lenny Bruce had changed his name to Shecky Bruce, or Lenny Del Lenny, Li’l em would have like him more. Steve Martin’s memoir” Born Standing Up, ” is a great read. Laugh out loud funny with great info about the making of a stand up comic. Pathologically shy. Panic attacks. He’s that kind of guy whose on stage personality is 180 degrees from who he is when he’s not on. ( A lot like Johnny Carson in that way ) Martin’s one talented guy, whose humorous essays ( collected in ” Pure Drival ” ) are gems Thurber, Benchley and that lot might appreciate.

    Thanks, Ger. A great way to wake up on a Saturday morning.

    And…

    Hey Mikey, time to get up!!

    • Li'l Em-Kel says:

      YAAAAAWWWWWWWNNNNN. MMWWAAHH!

      Good morning!

      Hey, speaking of James Thurber. . . maybe I dreamed it, but I swear that last night I saw Keith Olberman at the end of his Countdown show sitting in a big leather chair reading Thurber’s “The Night the Ghost Got In” to us.

      It was kind of a weird cross between the veiled pomposity of Walter Cronkite and the whimsy of Percy Dovetonsils. What gives with this guy? Is he that far down in the ratings?

    • Gerry says:

      I read his memoir too. I’m with you all the way. Brilliant guy.

  3. Linda says:

    I didn’t know I shared a birthday with Steve Martin! That’s better than Don Ho and Fidel Castro!

  4. I’m sitting her watching the Sox beat the Rangers and I read Linda’s comment, which makes my day, even if the Sox lose this one. Don Ho and Fidel Castro in the same sentence.

    I love it.

Leave a Reply

