Number Ten

The Whalers Fan Fest will be held Saturday at Rentschler Field in East Hartford. 

Former Whalers owner Howard Baldwin is taking baby steps toward bringing the NHL back to Hartford.  Step one: make the pro sport relevant again.  And what better way to start than to bring back Hartford’s heroes from the ’70s, ’80s, and ’90s.

Alan Hangsleben

Among the players who will be returning to reunite with the faithful will be Alan Hangsleben, a defenseman/left wing from the WHA days.

“Hank” was a big, raw-boned kid from Minnesota, who chose the WHA Whalers over the NHL Canadiens when the two leagues were vying for talent.  His reputation as a gamer and his willingness to mix it up didn’t go unnoticed by fans who made him their “Favorite Whaler” of the 1977-78 season.  And we had the same hair style.

If you bump into him at Rentschler Field Saturday, tell him I still have his sweater.  Game worn vintage stuff, with the harpoon logo and Pucky the Whale. 

And no, he can’t have it back.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, Living in the Past, People, Sports and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Number Ten

  1. So, if I get the chance to go to the Rent on Saturday, I can wear my brandy new Whaler’s Tee Shirt that I bought two weeks ago?

  2. “Pucky the Whale?”

    Who came up with that name? Tom Carvel?

  3. Bill from Billings says:

    I got VERY upset with Jack Kelly when He traded Hank for Tommy Roe. Hank was a great utility player for the Whalers. Tommy was a good player, but I suspect Mr. Kelly wanted him because he was from Massachusetts…..

    • Gerry says:

      Bill, Tommy Roe sang “Sheila” and “Dizzy.”
      Tom Rowe was the hockey player.
      But I know what you meant.

      • Bill from Billings says:

        Boy, I thought you were going zing me on the “Massachusetts” comment….oh well…..BTW…Hank was a better singer than both the Tommy Roe/Rowe’s !

  4. Bob Porrazzo says:

    Oh and by the way, the old Whale (why CT had a pro sports team is beyond me and don’t nobody get me started on the CT Sun in the failing WNBA) had a theme song…remember Brass Bonanza?

Leave a Reply

