The Coach

Coach Palmer

I met Chris Palmer this week.  He’s the head coach of the Hartford Colonials of the UFL.  (That would be the United Football League for the uninitiated.)  Good guy, Connecticut guy, been around the NFL.

We had a brief chat that ended abruptly.

Me:  “I’m hoping to get to Rentschler (Field) to take in a game.”

Him: “Hope you do.  Bring your grandkids and come on out.”

Me: “AAAAAAAAARRRRRRGGGGHHHHHHH!!!!!”

OK, maybe I am old enough to be a grandfather.  But obviously, he’d taken a hacksaw to a previously untouched nerve.

A few minutes later, Colonial public relations director Dave Heuschkel wandered to my desk with an offering: a Colonials baseball cap.  This is not unlike offering a child a lollipop after he skins his knee.

And yes, I felt better.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Diatribes, It's all about me, People, Sports and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to The Coach

  1. Barb says:

    Skin your knee? You’d better be careful with that hip, Gramps.
    (I kid. I kid. Seriously – I KID)

  2. hendu says:

    I will volunteer to be your grandkid for the day…….warning though, I can be pretty pricey.

  3. At lease he didn’t say Great Grandparent! (I think you look YOUNGER in HD by the way gramps!)

  4. Steve says:

    I might be treading on sensitive ground here but you do look younger with a cap on!

  5. Gerry's Mentor says:

    Grandpa, can you tell another anchorman story, like the time you got make up in your eye.

  6. Mary says:

    You’re a cheap fix Gerry, should have held out for season tickets. You’re as young as you feel.

  7. Gerry says:

    I am kind of cheap, Mary. Occasionally tawdry, too.

  8. Jim says:

    Hee-hee-hee

  9. Beckie says:

    Gerry, I feel your pain somewhat. I am “of advanced maternal age” (I HATE that term! That’s what the drs. used when I was pregnant. We were of advanced maternal and paternal age because we were over 40.)
    I’m constantly asked if my toddler is my grandchild. Or I have complete strangers ask about our IVF or fertility treatments (none of the above. We’d settled into a quiet child-free existence and were totally happy. God has a wicked sense of humor. 🙂 Don’t get me wrong. I love my daughter. But she was QUITE the surprise! )
    I’d love to have a snappy comeback, especially for those nosy people.

  10. Ken Davis says:

    Coach Palmer is a good man.

    But if a lollipop is for a skinned knee, what helps a bruised ego? Ouch, Grandpa Brooks!

Leave a Reply

