So He Had a Bad Day

Who among us, at one time or another, hasn’t fantasized about doing our professional equivalent of what Steven Slater did Monday at JFK?

Slater is the JetBlue flight attendant who made the P.A. announcement of his dreams after an altercation with a passenger, then deployed the emergency chute, slid down, and ran off.   He is, of course, under arrest.  I can’t further describe what happened better than this account.

But when I saw his Facebook picture, it struck me.  He’s a latter day “Johnny,” the maniacal air traffic controller in the original “Airplane!” played by the late Stephen Stucker.

Brilliant.

Steven Slater

Stephen Stucker

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to So He Had a Bad Day

  1. Scott says:

    With your wife being a flight attendant, I would like to know how many times she has made a similar announcement towards a passenger in private. I wouldn’t be surprised if you claim spousal privilege on that question.

    On another note – I shouldn’t have been drinking water when reading this. I laughed out loud and now have to go find some paper towels. PERFECT Gerry!

    • Gerry says:

      (Taking a bow.)

      Scott, I do have to claim spousal privilege on this one because you still can’t beat the bennies. But make no mistake, we did talk about this.

  2. Linda says:

    I immediately thought of you when I heard this story and knew you wouldn’t be able to resist. Though we don’t know all the details yet (NBC30’s site has a much tamer version of the incident than your link), I’m glad the incident was relatively harmless. The flight attendant could of easily gone a more violent route. Having to deal with the public in my own job, I can sympathize with him. It’s really very sad how disrespectful, demanding, rude, arrogant, etc, etc, etc the public has become. I just hope I never, ever “lose” it! By the way, I’ve never seen “Airplane”, but the resemblance in those pictures is scary.

    • Gerry says:

      Linda, you have to see “Airplane!” It’s part of my holy trinity that includes “Blazing Saddles” and “Animal House.”
      By the way, I would be stunned to see a flight attendant get outright violent.

  3. I like this guy, Slater. My guess is that his exit from the airline industry, and the hilarious and eloquent way in which he made it, will get him on Letterman this week.

    Good for him.

  4. Shar says:

    Ok, I can’t help it but laugh when I first heard about this, and of course you would post a comment.

    Yes, I do love the movie Airplane, and Otto Pilot is one of my favorite pilots! Yes, I’m serious, but please don’t call me ‘Shirley’.

Leave a Reply

