Back to the Beach

I hate to admit it, but I’ve become a bit of a beach snob over years of travel.

Once you get used to the smooth white sand and crystal clear waters of the Caribbean, you’re spoiled forever.

It had been years since I went to a Cape Cod beach in season, but I discovered this weekend that a good Cape beach has something the Caribbean doesn’t. 

That smell.

As soon as I walked onto the beach, it hit me.  That good, strong salt air, mixed with the scent of slathered sunscreen, and the sounds of families (ranging from, “Be careful in the water!” to “Don’t drown your sister!”)

That you don’t get in the Caribbean. 

I spent some time in the water with my youngest nephew.  We didn’t say much, because we didn’t have to.  We were just enjoying being there. 

Nice.  Really nice.

(I’ll get back to you in January when I’m singing an entirely different tune.)

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, Noticed, Travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Back to the Beach

  1. Beckie says:

    Cape beaches and Carribbean beaches are totally different “animals. Comparing them is like comparing apples and oranges.
    Different areas of the world have different sands, thus leading to different charms. Polynesian beaches aren’t anything like Carribbean or Northeast or even Californian beaches. Heck, southern and northern CA have different beaches. They each have their own flavor and all are gorgeous! 🙂
    (As an aside, Gerry, if you haven’t been to Trunk Bay on St. John, you’re missing one of the prettiest, most natural and peaceful beaches in the world, IMHO.)

  2. Newcomb Hollow. White Crest. Balston. Herring Cove. Nauset. Race Point. We’ve been up and down the entire east coast from Bar Harbor to South Beach. Those outer cape beaches are the best. In my humble opinion.

    • Gerry says:

      My favorite part was watching my nephew thoroughly enjoy the water and the waves. This is a kid who doesn’t take the fact that he lives on Cape Cod for granted.

  3. Terrence M. says:

    Sounds like a great kid. My hope is that he doesn’t take for granted the fact that he has one special uncle. Strike that. He knows.

  4. anne says:

    I LOVE Cape Cod cause its a place where you wanna get away but still enjoy the tourism. in fact, im @ the cape right now and its hot but still very nice to relax and enjoy and sleep away if you don’t make plans 🙂

  5. Gerry's Mentor says:

    The nephew was there to resuce the senior citizen from the surf and lead him back to the chair.

  6. Graham says:

    Right on all accounts!

    • Gerry says:

      Graham, played at the Yarmouth muni for the first time. Bayberry Hills. Best greens I’ve played on all year, and the entire course was superbly conditioned. If you’ve never played there, treat yourself.

  7. Mark Lopa says:

    Finally…someone who knows “the smell” I’ve been enjoying all my life, but to which nobody understands. Until now, of course. One of the things I love about going to the Cape is that beach smell. You don’t only smell it, but you feel it too. I was just there last month and now can’t wait to get back.

Leave a Reply

