It Was a Different Time

Just before The Beatles came along, and all hell broke loose with Vietnam, America tuned in to NBC and sang along with Mitch.

Mitch Miller died over the weekend at 99. 

We may recall his music as safe and innocuous.  Looking back, remembering the lyrics at the bottom of the screen, we may have been singing karaoke before we knew what it was.

But those of us who remember a mustachioed, goateed man leading  blazer-clad singers in “The Yellow Rose of Texas” should also know his backstory.

Mitch Miller had tunnel vision when it came to rock and roll, but he was perhaps the most influential music executive of his time.

And we could safely watch him with our grandparents.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Living in the Past, News, Noticed, People and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to It Was a Different Time

  1. Would you believe that I had tears falling when I heard Mitch Miller died? I remember sitting on the living room floor watching his show with my parents. I think that is another reason why I liked music so much was due to the music he played back then, and of course the ‘bouncing ball’. Isn’t it amazing how something that seemed so simple on our T.V had took on many ways to do it?
    To think of how many people he had helped during that time! I used to have one or two of his ‘long playing’ records. I still remember the men in the blazers and him with his smile! Oh what a wonderful time it had been to watch T.V.
    Even though it has been many years since we all ‘sang’ with Mitch, he will be missed. R.I.P. Mitch, enjoy your time with Satchmo, Rosemary Clooney, watch out for Buddy Holly!

  2. I used to follow the bouncing ball….

    The Yellow Rose of Texas was the Song I liked best….followed by Let Me Call You Sweetheart!

    R.I.P Mitch

  3. Wendy says:

    I sang in a choir many years ago with a gentleman who had been a part of Mitch Miller’s organization, had traveled with him over the country, and had met many of the young singers who later became stars. He related wonderful stories to us during rehearsals. His wife had made a braided rug for their home using pieces of costumes she’d saved over the years. I remember singing along with Mitch when I was a little girl barely able to read. I thought it was great fun to follow the bouncing ball! I’d do it again today!

Leave a Reply

