Werewolves of…Alabama?

Driving along, running errands, and I heard the opening piano riff for Warren Zevon’s “Werewolves of London.”  Except it wasn’t.  It was Kid Rock’s mashup of “Werewolves” and Lynyrd Skynyrd’s “Sweet Home Alabama.”

I know what you’re thinking.  That’s the first time you heard it? 

Yes.  Yes, it was.

It’s called “All Summer Long,” and it’s pretty good. 

It’s just that I was expecting to hear “Werewolves.”  Know what I mean?

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Digital World, Living in the Past, Noticed and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Werewolves of…Alabama?

  1. Beckie says:

    Love the song! Reminds me of my teen summers.
    Never heard “Werewolves” in it though. Always thought it was a sample of Sweet Home Alabama.

  2. ugly mike says:

    Love Warren Zevon, and this song is ok, but can’t we have someone write something original these days ?! Good God…

  3. Dan McCarthy says:

    When I first heard that song, I thought it was terrible but it grew on me…

  4. Ah, Warren Zevon. There’s a great tribute CD that came out right after he died. Adam Sandler covers ” Werewolves…” I think my favorite Zevon tune is ” The French Inhaler. ” Jackson Browne did a great acoustic version of that at his concert at Foxwoods a few years ago.

  5. I had the same reaction when I first heard it a while ago.
    I bet there will be a whole generation hearing this that will have no idea Kid Rock is ripping off Warren Zevon.
    Kind of like how many Nirvana fans reacted to the news that “The Man Who Sold the World” was actually a David Bowie song.

Leave a Reply

