A Teachable Lesson?

Some guy named Ed has a show on MSNBC called “The Ed Show.”  That’s all I know about Ed and his show, because I never, ever turn up the sound on Ed’s show.  Or Sean’s, Keith’s, or Bill’s.  None of them.

But I did see the graphic on the screen, which asked whether FOX learned a “teachable lesson” over L’Affaire Sherrod.

Mr. Ed

FOX?  Just FOX?  How about you, Ed?  And how about me?  How about each and every one of us, and I’m not confining this to the media.  I mean President Obama, Tom Vilsack, and you, and you, and you.  And me.  (I already said me, didn’t I?)

Too many of us are content to believe what we believe, and when some schmo with an agenda comes along with a tape purported to show a government official spouting racial venom, that’s enough for us all to cry, “Off with her head!”

In this bloggy, Tweety, sound-bitten, talking head, rush to judgment world, we read the headline, but we’re “too busy” to read the whole story.

 And people like Shirley Sherrod are going to get hurt.  Good people.

Yes, Ed (yeah, you with the show) there’s a “teachable lesson” here.  For each and every one of us.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Cable Hell, Diatribes, Digital World, News, People, Politics and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A Teachable Lesson?

  1. Wendy says:

    Perhaps, each of us should be less quick to jump to conclusions based on precious little information.

  2. Linda says:

    This is one reason why I don’t watch any of “those” shows. It’s just someone spewing their opinion and expecting the public to agree. I have my own opinions, and I like them much better than what anyone else tries to force on me. I generally glance at the headlines on various news websites. When I first saw the Shirley Sherrod headline, I didn’t read the rest of the article – mainly because I just didn’t believe what the headline was insinuating. For Shirley’s sake, I wish her bosses and others didn’t believe it either. There are always two sides to a story. And when you have someone with an agenda, you ought to know better and check all the facts.

  3. Lori says:

    I think Shirley Sherrod has given everyone the opportunity to examine our daily actions….. whatever our occupation and answer the questions…..How to be better and How to make the world better. Nice job once again Gerry.

  4. Li'l Em-Kel says:

    I’ve read and heard a lot of different reactions to the handling of the Sherrod situation, but surprise was not one of them. And that’s the way it is . . .

  5. Beckie says:

    With techology anything can be concocted to look or sound the way one wants. I point to the film “Wag The Dog.” Can we believe anything anymore?

  6. Couple of things. How does a ” teachable ” lesson differ from a lesson? Aren’t all lessons the end result of some kind of teaching? Maybe this guy Ed and his regular viewers are teachable, or unteachable. Maybe somebody could do an inservice and cover this. I’d go. I’m pretty teachable. I’ve learned my lessons well. I, like you, Gerry, watch the news with the sound turned off.

    One more thing. The Ed Show? What is it with first names these days? Ed Sullivan was bigger than this guy Ed will ever be. Yet Sullivan’s show ( Originally called The Toast of the Town after a column he wrote when he was a newspaperman ) was called The Ed Sullivan Show.

    I have no idea what this guy Ed’s last name is.

    Mudd?

  7. Gerry says:

    Sometimes I write these things just to look forward to your comments. Nice job, everybody. Thank you!

  8. @Terrence
    It’s Schultz.

    BTW, this Ed needs to put Mel Gibson on “Psycho Talk.” Mel just don’t know when to keep his big mouth shut.

Leave a Reply

