The BOATAH

I have a great life.  No complaints.  (OK, no valid complaints.)

But for 15 minutes on Wednesday, I assumed the identity of the guy in front of me on I-84.  He was driving a black Corvette convertible, top down.  Had a Maine vanity license plate with a lobster claw on it.  BOATAH, it said. 

Having nothing better to do on my way to work, I put myself behind the wheel of his/my ‘Vette.  The wind blowing through what’s left of my hair felt good.  I was driving to the marina at Bar Harbor (Bah Hahbah), where he/I keep the custom Sabre 456 ready to go on a moment’s notice.  (In reality, I do much better on motor boats than sailboats, but hey, this was my 15 minute vacation.)  I was going to take a solo cruise at sunset, and then….

I had to get off the highway and he kept kept going.

Cue the announcer:  “We now return you to your regularly scheduled life.”

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, Noticed. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to The BOATAH

  1. Hey, Gerry, I just took an imaginary ride on you boat..had a blast!

  2. Mary says:

    Nothing wrong with living in the moment. My father-inlaw has a 73 red corvette, so being married to his oldest son……………. just maybe someday.

  3. Li'l Em-Kel says:

    Pocketa-pocketa-pocketa.

  4. Gerry's Mentor says:

    You can borrow it whenever you like.

  5. Thanks for the wonderful post. It made my day. Of course, after I read it I could not resist kicking my car a few times.

  6. Linda says:

    Does this fall under the category of “distracted driver”?

  7. Cat says:

    Did that Red Ferrari 308 GTS cruise on by with Christie inside? : )

Leave a Reply

