My Place on the Water

I won’t be using it this weekend, so I’m willing to share.  It’s all yours.

Actually, it is all yours.  It’s Branford House, the centerpiece of UConn-Avery Point in Groton.  It sits majestically, overlooking Fishers Island Sound.

There is no finer place along the Connecticut shoreline (that’s accessible to the public, anyway) to stroll the grounds, read a book, have a picnic, and especially in weather like we’re having, enjoy a steady breeze off the water.

Sculptures (many for sale) grace the grounds.  (That’s Ledge Light in the background.)  My favorite, set off by the grand manor, is called “Pig Iron.”

Anyway, like I said, I’m not using the place this weekend, so stop by and enjoy.

You’re welcome.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Noticed, Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My Place on the Water

  1. Soundbounder says:

    Ahhh, Avery Point! What a great spot.

  2. Cat says:

    Did I fail to mention you are my favorite newsman… :p
    Wouldn’t it be grand to drive up to that everyday,
    Room enough for your own little par 3 too.
    I like a person who dreams.
    Keep cool Gerry,

  3. sharbeth says:

    Oh how relaxing that looks! I loved the Pig Iron! The head statue wasn’t too thrilling to me, but everything else looked so wonderful!

Leave a Reply

