A Complicated Man

George:  “You stupid sunavabitch, you had to go out, get drunk and kill yourself.  I was gonna hire you as manager another 6 or 7 times.  By the way, tastes great.”

Billy:  “I’ve been waiting for you.  Surprised it took you so long.  I don’t have to take your crapola where we are now.  And it’s less filling, fatboy.”

George has left the Stadium.

George Steinbrenner was reviled to the east and mostly beloved to the west.  Switching between sportstalk stations WEEI in Boston and WFAN in New York after hearing of his death only illuminated what a polarizing figure he was.

I have a feeling that had he owned the Boston Red Sox, those of us whose allegiances lie to the east would have genuflected in his presence.

Having just read Bill Madden’s biography of Steinbrenner, the man alternated between devil in disguise and angel on earth.  If it’s possible for George Steinbrenner to rest in peace, I hope he does.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in News, People, Sports and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A Complicated Man

  1. Kevin says:

    I can see in it now, the Voice of God, Bob Sheppard announcing his arrival at the Pearly Gates. Rip Big George.

  2. bob says:

    I am in anaheim today for the allstar game…everyone talking about him

    First the voice of God (shepherd) and now God himself

  3. Beckie says:

    I’m a converted Yankee-fan. They were MY team during the Reggie Jackson and Bucky Dent years (yes, Bucky Dent. 🙂 ) George and Billy were kind of like watching the WWE today. The “team” has changed over the years and I just don’t see them playing as a “team” anymore. I see the Sox as a “team” and many of their players still play for the love of the game, rather than the paycheck. (Papi comes to mind.)

    It’s rare that a good businessman is a nice guy. George could be one or the other, but not both.

  4. sharbeth says:

    I must have been one of the few people who lived in NY and didn’t like the Yankees due to one thing… George Steinbrenner. The way he ‘paid’ for players would drive me nuts. Yet, it took the players to get to be worth the cost he paid for them. I think he might have had a calendar for some of the players as to when they would become free agents then he would attack at that time.

    I do love the conversation you had between George and Billy Martin, that is what they were like in the years they worked together. I can picture them at a table right now with Mickey Mantel, Joe Dimagio, just to name a few, getting their cigars ready, and figuring out what they want to drink, and then watch the All Star Game, with ‘The Voice’ Mr. Shepard, saying the names, and numbers of each player. What I would give to be at that table.

    If you can George, rest quietly, and rest in peace.

  5. George will be greatly missed by all Yankee fans, young and old, as will Bob Sheppard.

  6. sharbeth says:

    I knew I would cry when they honored Bob Sheppard tonight at the All Star Game, but I know I will be crying for George Steinbrenner as well. This is the first time for all the All Star Games I have watched in which I will cry. So much for showing how strong I am.

  7. Linda Brooks says:

    Rest in peace George…I, for one , will miss you forever. You were a hero.

  8. Every other team in the majors had fans secretly wishing at one time or another…I wish George Steinbrenner owned our team

Leave a Reply

