Freaks and Geeks

Driving home Friday night, I got off I-84 at the Sisson Avenue exit.  There’s apparently a 25-year project to fix the highway in Hartford.  So I cut through the city.

Waiting at a light on State St., next to the hole that used to be Broadcast House, I saw the nicest thing I’ve seen in years in downtown Hartford.  Looking up and down Columbus Boulevard, I saw bright lights, heavy traffic, and people.  Lots and lots of people.  Hartford at midnight actually looked like a vibrant city.  (On Columbus Boulevard only.  Streets a block away were deserted.) 

A ConnectiCon Couple

Many of these people looked a little different, and then it dawned on me.  All of them were at the Convention Center for ConnectiCon.

NBCConnecticut.com’s Bob Connors put this slide show of ConnectiCon on our website.

ConnectiCon was a 3-day non-stop gathering of thousands of people who are into sci fi, anime, and a lot of other stuff that eludes me.  Judging by the slide show, to say they are passionate would be an understatement.

I was tempted to stop and take it all in.  But I had to get home to rest up for my passion that probably eludes many of the folks who go to ConnectiCon.  Golf.

Vive la différence!

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Noticed, People and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Freaks and Geeks

  1. I just watched the slide show. You sure those aren’t old pics of hockey fans on their way into a Whaler game?

    • Gerry says:

      Funny you say that. Having been “brought up” at Boston Garden, I remember going to Whalers games in the WHA days and wondering why everyone was wearing coats and ties and applauded politely when the home team scored. It was a surreal atmosphere at the beginning.

  2. Not to mention towards the end.

  3. rick says:

    Gerry, Any part of Hartford that’s crowded on Friday night is a good thing.

  4. I was there.. . And I golf.

Leave a Reply

