Cavalier Attitude

Dan Gilbert, majority owner of the Cleveland Cavaliers, issued a statement Thursday night in which he vented his spleen over, in his words, “…our former hero, who grew up in the very region that he deserted this evening…”

Whether he’s right or wrong, whether he sounds like a jilted lover or a poor little rich kid who didn’t get his way, doesn’t really matter to me.

It’s kind of refreshing, and certainly out of the ordinary, to see someone in a position of power cast political correctness aside and just let it rip because he’s so damn mad he’s borderline irrational.

His entire statement is here.

UPDATE:  Of all the reaction to Gilbert’s statement, this is my absolute favorite, directly from Geek Central.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in News, Noticed, People, Sports and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Cavalier Attitude

  1. hendu says:

    Dan Gilbert just got a new fan.

  2. James says:

    While I admire the candor in his statement, I can’t help but laugh at the underlying thought process. The word ‘loyalty’ does not exist in either business or professional sport any longer. If LeBron hadn’t performed up to expectations Gilbert would have dumped him in a heartbeat, without pausing to think about ‘loyalty’ for a second.

    It’s been my experience that people in power absolutely hate it when someone else exercises their power for their own benefit. What really amazes me is that almost every time this happens, the individual on the losing end says, “Whatever happened to loyalty?”

  3. I rarely, if ever, disagree with Marshall Miles. But he and I are not on the same page on this one. This is getting to be a boiler plate sports story. Someone leaves his team, be it a college football coach, a Johnny Damon like MLB player, or LeBron and…

    Someone releases a statement or brays a comment into a mike about said coach or player ” betraying ” the team and the town in which it plays. This is nonsense. The NBA is a business. LeBron is a businessman. He saw an opportunity and took it.

    The hour special and all the hype? That I had problems with. But it’s not just a business; it’s show business. So there you go.

    By the way, don’t forget to tune in to my hour long special tomorrow night at 9 p.m. on Fox. I will be announcing my future plans in the book writing and publishing business. Don’t expect me to confirm or deny rumors that I will be moving to Cleveland.

    You’ll have to watch the show, which will be hosted by my good friend ( recently made ) Dennis Kucinich.

  4. Kevin says:

    Lebron the drama queen paired with creepy Jim Gray as the matchmaker, all that was missing from this spectacle was a Lebron lip quiver and the handing of a rose to the team that won his heart.

  5. Li'l Em-Kel says:

    Hey, Dan Gilbert. That high school kid you made a deal with seven years ago got wise to the game. No, not the pathetically easy game (or is it an exhibition?) of pro hoops. I mean the hard-nosed, high-stakes game of contract negotiation. Too bad.

    But, not to worry. There’s another wide-eyed teenager just around the corner. Suck it up and get back in the game. Oops, I mean show.

  6. In any game, there are winners and there are losers. Unfortunately, for YOU, Dan Gilbert, you can’t win ’em all. Stop freakin’ crying already!

Leave a Reply

