The “E” in ESPN

Anybody remember what it stands for?  Time’s up.

ENTERTAINMENT

The Entertainment & Sports Programming Network is coming under fire for ceding an hour of air time to LeBron James for his announcement.

Is it news?  Yes.  Is it entertainment?  Definitely.

Is it journalism?  Hell no.  And that’s what LeBron’s inquisitors, Jim Gray, Stuart Scott and Michael Wilbon, have to answer to.

Do they care?  I suspect not.  They get “face time” they never dreamed of.

Enjoy the show.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Diatribes, Media, News, People, Sports, TV Stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The “E” in ESPN

  1. I am almost as tired with Le Bron as I am with Lohan….

    Gag me with a spoon

  2. Terry says:

    The NBA should ban this nonsense.!!!! I’m so fed up with these high priced athletes

    • Gerry says:

      The NBA loves this nonsense! It’s got them on the front pages and on the air in July. And ESPN is a more than willing accomplice.
      The media helped make LeBron, and now he controls the media that made him.

  3. Excellent point, Gerry.

    Strike that.

    THE point probably. The NBA gets attention on July 8. LOTS of attention. Giving Mr. James the time for this infomercial is outrageous and wrong.

    Media wise, this is a Full Cleveland.

  4. Bill says:

    Senator Dodd once moved to Iowa to run for president, and now LeBron James is in Connecticut to announce where he’ll be playing. 🙂

  5. Kevin says:

    And yet you shilled him out as your top story tonight, ahead of brown water from the MDC … huh. Nice work, journalist. I mean entertainer. Irony is a bitch, isn’t it?

  6. Kevin says:

    just to be clear , unlike the water , zing.I am no way affiliated with angry Kevin

    • Gerry says:

      I know. But “angry Kevin” made a good point. I could have rationalized it as a “Connecticut” story, blah, blah, blah…but I prefer to say, “Well played, sir. Well played.”

Leave a Reply

