A Lid Flipped

Who was that idiot who did sports on the 6pm news on NBC Connecticut on Monday? 

What a moron.  The guy went off on the “Stars and Stripes” caps big league ballplayers wore on Memorial Day, Independence Day, and will wear again on September 11th.  That jerk called them “stupid.”

And by phone and email, viewers ripped that imbecile a new one.   “Don’t you know all proceeds go to a veterans organization?” 

Yes.  And no. 

They look strange on rookies...

The organization is called Welcome Back Veterans.org.  They have a great looking website, and I really, really hope they live up to all they say they are and say they do.  But who is Welcome Back Veterans.org?  There is very little information, and you won’t find the answer on the website.

And all proceeds do not go to Welcome Back Veterans.org.  How much?  MLB apparently has no idea

...and on superstars.

And check out this website of a company selling the caps for $36.99.  The page displays the WBV.org logo.  But if you can find where it says any proceeds go to that organization, let me know.

Oh, did I mention I did sports Monday at 6? 

I should have either kept my mouth shut or made it clear that I think the hats look like they belong on the softball diamond. 

I was wrong.  And I was right.

And I think I’ll stick to news.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Diatribes, News, Sports, TV Stuff and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A Lid Flipped

  1. Barb says:

    Even if you buy it through MLB, only a whopping buck goes to WBV.
    I feel for ya, man.

  2. sharbeth says:

    Figures the one time I end up falling asleep right before the news comes on, a new sportscaster comes on!!

    Ok, so I have to agree the Rookie look a bit silly with the ‘special’ caps. Were they made bigger for them for some reason? I also went on both sites, to see how much would be donated to the Veterans and did not see anything at all about it. When I was on the Welcomeback Veterans site, I saw the car being donated, there is no way I’d be able to even bid for the owners manual! I understand it’s Tom Hanks car, but “YIKES”

    If there were anyplace on the site in which it was said how much (I would hope it would be just about all the $$) going to Welcomeback Veterans, then I would have bought a cap or a shirt. Since they didn’t mention anything, I left the site upset.

  3. Gerry says:

    Just watched Mariano close out the A’s in his traditional Yankees cap. He looks like the hero he is instead of a beer league twirler.

  4. rick says:

    Gerry, Note to Nathan. I wanna hear more opinion on sports section. Otherwise….. I hear the NBC30 weather dept has a sports background.

  5. Linda says:

    I saw the sportscast last night and frankly, didn’t know what the heck you were talking about. Glad you explained it. Now that I see the hats, they are not only stupid, they’re just plain ugly! I’m also glad you brought to light the organization promoting the hat. There are so many charity driven organizations popping up, you really have to do your homework before contributing. Thanks for the heads up on this one. I only wish the MLB did their homework.

  6. Mary says:

    People are far to trusting, once they hear it’s for a certain cause everyone jumps on board. When I screen organization we contribute to I make sure 100% stays in house. I agree the caps were …………….. ummm, colorful.

    • Gerry says:

      Mary and Linda, thanks for the comments. Again, I hope this organization is the real deal, but information is elusive.

      I believe we’re so intent on making sure returning veterans aren’t treated the way their brothers and sisters who served in Vietnam were that we’ll jump on anything that has the right buzzwords without doing our due diligence.

  7. Cat says:

    I must say, when you first starting giving the sports my mouth opened :0 and I asked myself/// “what is he thinking?”, I figured it was just a jab at the Yankee’s, but then you went on to say the same about the Red Sox’s, so now I’m thinking, just an “equal opportunity offender”….. I figured the cap was something they were handing out to the fans for the 4th, I should have known better…
    With that aside, I do think you did a great job presenting the sports Gerry.

    • Gerry says:

      Oh, I made sure I was an equal opportunity offender. I had fun doing the sports, but I have to remember I was the sports guy 30 years ago, and need to pull back on the throttle a bit now.

  8. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: The Sox players have more clothing and hat changes in their lockers than a mood disordered actor has in his closets. And it’s all about M&M. Merchandising and Money.

    Why don’t they ( All MLB teams ) just put a $ on the front of their caps?

  9. Gerry Jr. says:

    Worth noting as well that caps are made in China, according to the MLB website, yeah that really helps our troops returning home.

Leave a Reply

