A Mindless Moment

It was one of those weeks.  Good, bad, and non-stop busy.

But I had a moment on Friday that was too good not to share. 

I was filling up the car, looking down at the ground, and thinking about absolutely nothing.  Zero.  Nada.  Empty cranium.  No one was home, and the lights weren’t on.  Mentally flatlined.

I suppose it only lasted 30 to 45 seconds, but what a lovely half-minute or so it was. 

And then it dawned on me that I was thinking of nothing.  Which meant I was thinking about something.  And even if I was thinking about thinking about nothing, it just wasn’t the same.

Have a good weekend.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A Mindless Moment

  1. sharbeth says:

    Oh boy am I confused! Or is it that I am mindless more so often than most?

  2. Li'l Em-Kel says:

    You too, eh?

  3. Kathy says:

    My husband told me once that he could think of nothing. I argued the nothing/something stance. I couldn’t believe…Now after 32 years of marriage, I’m afraid I have to believe him!!! More often, than not.

  4. Mike says:

    When you can get to that moment it is a beautiful place. I get there about two times per week. It helps me relax. See if you can do it again. What you described is the basis of meditation and getting into your subconcious mind. Cool Gerry!

  5. James says:

    Ger – Thinking of nothing is like the sound of silence. Is awareness of something the same as thinking about it? Who knows? But we all need to disconnect once in a while, even if only for a few seconds…

  6. Sounds like a Seinfeld moment to me..make a sitcom out of it!

Leave a Reply

