Chevy, Chevrolet, Whatever

Pulled into the parking lot of lovely Tallwood C.C., and there it was, a 1968 Chevrolet Caprice.  I had a 1968 Chevrolet Caprice.  Mine was white with a black vinyl top and blue interior.

As I walked around it, it brought back a flood of memories.

Like what an absolute piece of $%@! it was. 

Yeah, yeah, I know I’m supposed to wax rhapsodic about Glory Days and Chevrolets, but that thing was a gas-guzzling, oil-spitting piece of (see above line).

I will say this for it, though.  A small family could live in the trunk.

Install plumbing and move in.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Diatribes, It's all about me, Living in the Past, Noticed and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Chevy, Chevrolet, Whatever

  1. Li'l Em-Kel says:

    I like it. The rear fender extends for fully half the car’s length. And, for golfers, the trunk is clearly a six-bagger. At least.

  2. pete says:

    guzzling gas and spitting oil is what cars are about! if you want a transportation appliance, go buy a kia. 🙂

    • Gerry says:

      Pete, given my (more recent) experience with Chevrolet, I just might select a Kia over a Chevy. Too bad, because I grew up with Chevys.

  3. We bought a Kia ( Soul ) recently.. It would fit in that trunk. Along with three or four of the neighbors’ cars, a golf cart and two or three caddies ( Those guys who carry the bags, not the cars. The trunk’s not that big. )

  4. Dave Hoss says:

    If you’re travelling on exactly the right spot on Rt. 6, the front bumper is in RI and the rear in NY. Fuel economy was measured in Original Colonies Per Tankful. They’re really that old. General George once was saved when a Caprice deflected a 16-pound cannon ball. It dented the ball.

  5. Linda says:

    I had a Chevy Vega in the early 70’s. It was standard and the gear shift was not connected properly. When I brought it to the attention of the service manager, he sneered at me and called me a GD girl and what did I know. I knew plenty (my dad was an expert on cars). I brought it to a private mechanic, got the problem all documented and wrote a scathing letter to General Motors. I’m happy to say that the service manager was fired! The only car manufacturer (in the 60’s, 70’s and 80’s) that didn’t treat me like all females were morons was Dodge. I ended up with 3. I think things are a little better now.

  6. Gerry

    If the Car Talk guys are looking to make it a threesome, you da man. Ditto re Dave’s comment. Hilarious.

  7. Steve says:

    Never mind the car, how did you hit em?

  8. Dan McCarthy says:

    The Roadmaster I used to own had a trunk like that. God, I miss that car…

Leave a Reply

