An Oversight Set Right

Have a “to do” list?  Is there something that just seems to linger on it to the point that you wonder if it will ever get done?

I wiped an item off my “to do” list today, and it took 22 years.

In 1988, I registered with a political party to vote in a primary.  I meant to change my registration back to “unaffiliated” ASAP.  But I never got around to it.  Until today.

It was just one of those things I thought about only on days I voted.  Then forgot.  Then remembered today.  Why today?  No idea, but I seized the moment.

It is still important for working journalists (at least those who don’t host talk shows) to walk that line right down the middle of the road.  As a nightly purveyor of news and information, I have my opinions and biases, but you should never know them.  So now I feel a little “cleaner.” 

Next on the “to do” list: windows.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, Politics, TV Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to An Oversight Set Right

  1. Cat says:

    I gave up with voting with any party, I mean just who can you trust anymore Gerry?
    It is always the same deal, nothing but broken promises.
    I do agree that opinions should not be voiced over the news, but when Beck, Rush and Bill @ times get going, it can get interesting, sometimes funny.
    However, Anderson & Soledad can at times as I’m sure you know, push that button.
    Anyways, a pic of that new Speedo mentioned, much more interesting than any political party….. : )
    Have a great evening.

  2. Beckie says:

    Thanks for the reminder, Gerry! I registered w/a party when I registered at 18, partly because everyone in my family was a member of that party. But I’m not sure there was an “ind.” option in ’86. I don’t really identify with one party or the other.

  3. Mary says:

    My ” to do ” list just got a stay, I’ve been meaning to empty boxes from the bonus room since we moved 11 years ago. I’m no where near your 22, thanks Gerry. I do have a window in that room, you might have to empty a few boxes to get to it…….

  4. graham says:

    Forget the windows…….play golf

Leave a Reply

