A Good Friend

One of the proudest papas around this weekend was former NBC Connecticut reporter Lew Brown.  Lew’s son Jason got married, and I was happy to be there to witness an old friend’s happy day.

Sweet Lew

Lew and I go back to the mid-70’s, our WPOP days.  I believe we became friends forever one snowy morning.  I had abandoned one car in bad weather  a couple of days before, and I had to walk away from another car  when it died in the center of Newington.  It was about 5 a.m., and seeing the lights on in a bakery, I trudged over to ask if I could use the phone to call in.  The man inside refused, and I did not react well to his lack of hospitality.

Steaming hot in sub-freezing temperatures, I started walking the rest of the way, when a car stopped.  It was Lew.  He asked what was wrong.  I told him, and I think a couple of the words, like “a” and “the” weren’t profanities.

“Well then, get in.”

“*%@*+)!”

“What do you mean no?”

“:>?+@&!!”

“Come on, get in.”

“OK.”

Thanks Lew.  And congratulations.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, Living in the Past, People and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A Good Friend

  1. Sue Bailey says:

    Feliciations, Lew. You taught me so much — about Hartford, about news-gathering, about being a team-member. I’m so happy for you for this joyful occassion.

  2. Beckie says:

    Glad to hear Mr. Brown is doing well! I remember him from way back on Channel 30. I remember him doing a piece on diabetes, referencing his own struggle with the disease. And I remember when he retired.
    I wonder if you all (meaning news anchors/reporters) who have been part of our lives for so long realize you’re like part of our families. You come into our homes several times a week and stay for hours sometimes. We trust your insight as we would a good friend. We share your weddings, babies, sometimes birthdays. We know your favorite sports teams. And when one of you is gone from the air (retirement, switching stations, etc.,) we wonder whatever happened to…..

    Ed Harrigan pops into mind. We used to see him grocery shopping at the Shop Rite in New Britain in the 70s. Or Don Lark. There was an older Don on WFSB too. I want to say King, but I know that’s not right (and no, not Dan Kane.) Some pop up in other places Van Hackett and Hilton Kaderli are on commercials, I’ve noticed. And of course, Tom Monahan is an icon.

    • Gerry says:

      The “older Don” was (and happily still is) Don Noel.
      Beckie, we really appreciate you taking us into your confidence. Thank you.

      • Beckie says:

        YES! Don Noel! He probably wasn’t that old when he was on air, but I was in my early 20s so anyone over 35 was “older.” And he had gray hair. He looked a lot like my father-in-law (No, I didn’t know my husband yet.)

  3. Barb says:

    Awww… love, love, love my memories of Downtown Lew Brown. I can hear him now: “Barbie, dig this here…”
    Thanks for the happy update, G.

  4. Mary says:

    Doesn’t Lew look handsome, congrats to all. There really is nothing like a life long friend.

  5. Stefanie Cruz says:

    Hey Gerry!
    Miss you and reading your blog. Our promotions director Drew Fowler (remember him from 30?) turned me on to it. Glad Lew is doing well.
    Stef

  6. Jim says:

    Mr. Brown…the definition of a class act, except it’s no act. My pleasure to work with him, and learn from him……

Leave a Reply

