Axe Envy

A young man who serves our newscasts in a variety of capacities was walking through the newsroom after our 6pm broadcast, carrying a long, flat case.

Reasonably sure he doesn’t do part-time work as a hitman, I asked him what kind of guitar he plays.  He smiled, laid down the case, flipped the latches, and there it was.  Every make-believe rock star’s dream.  Nestled on orange velour, a Fender Stratocaster.

Tyler (his first name) told me he was headed to Black Eyed Sally’s in Hartford for “open mic” night.  The Strat is his baby, a Stevie Ray Vaughan model.  Stevie Ray was his guitar hero. 

He told me playing guitar is to him what golf is to me. I’ll bet he’s better.

With a twinge of envy, I watched him shut the case and head for Hartford.  I might have wished that was me, but I tried learning guitar years ago.

I was really, really bad.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Noticed, People and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Axe Envy

  1. James says:

    Gerry – Think of the positives! If you had played well you would have become rich & famous, then lost all that money on drugs, criminal lawyers and ex-wives. So instead of being a burned-out rockstar, selling his soul on reality TV you still have your liver, your sanity, and your pride.

    However, I understand your feelings, I feel the same way everytime I see an original Rhodes piano… 🙂

  2. Gerry's Mentor says:

    Next time you are over, I will turn it up to 11, hit the fuzz pedal and let you have at it. I’ll even get out a lighter if it makes you feel better.

Leave a Reply

