Smoke From a Distant Fire

For those of you who have seen (or breathed) the smoke from wildfires in Quebec, I offer the Sanford-Townsend Band’s one and only hit.  From 1977, “Smoke From a Distant Fire.”

I remember this song particularly well, because it was one of the few left hanging around WPOP-AM, Hartford, after the station changed format from top-40 to all-news.  I played it over and over while I wrote my morning sportscasts.

Why the people I worked with didn’t kill me, I’ll never know.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, Living in the Past, Media, News, Weather and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Smoke From a Distant Fire

  1. I remember this song very well! I was listening to WDRC AM though.. sorry

  2. Either alcohol, drugs or religion saved you Gerry.. especially in radio at that time, I know, I was in radio in Kingston, NY at the time at WKNY.. and everyone at the station fit in the above three categories!

    • Gerry says:

      Must have been the occasional chat with JD. Drugs and religion, not so much.
      For anyone who watched WKRP, there was a fair amount of truth to that show.

      • James says:

        Gerry – Not to highjack the thread, but your comment about WKRP brought to mind a strange deja vu moment from a couple of weeks ago. I was in Cincinnati on business. I had never been there before, but as I walked around the city it seemed so familiar.

        When I mentioned this in a meeting with my clients, they all started laughing and said, “You must have been a fan of WKRP! We get this comment all the time. People who have never been here, find it familiar and don’t know why. The downtown area hasn’t changed all that much since the 70s, and fans of the show all remember the location shots of the city.”

        When you think about it, it’s amazing the cultural impact that even the most innocuous TV can have on our psyches.

      • Gerry says:

        Scary, ain’t it?

      • Joan says:

        I wonder why they were a “one hit wonder”? As I watch them now, they were really good!

      • Gerry says:

        Agreed. The song lives on in my iPod.

  3. Bill from Billings says:

    Gerry,
    You always had good taste in music. “Smoke From a Distant Fire” and “Rich Girl” were two of your favorites when writing the sports……
    Bill From Billings

Leave a Reply

