Hello, Summer

Memorial Day weekend marks the unofficial start of summer, and if going to a movie is on the agenda, I’m so sorry for you.

I don’t go to the movies often, but to the best of my recollection, all I ever did was drive to the theater, buy a ticket, plunk my butt down, and watch the film.

In the paper today, Susan Dunne has a very long, very detailed article on how to save money at the movies.  I had no idea this much work went into seeing Shrek.

And by the time you’re done reading it you may be so exhausted you may want to consider my way of “going to the movies.”

Pick up remote control.  Press “On Demand.”

And the popcorn is fresh and hot.  Enjoy the weekend.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, Media, Noticed and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Hello, Summer

  1. Mary says:

    On Demand is wonderful, the popcorn is warm and you can pause the movie for any number of reason. I’ll be enjoying the wonderful outdoors this weekend, no movie lines for me, Happy Memorial Weekend !

  2. Cat says:

    I’m with you Gerry.
    In our younger days, that was the place to go to catch a smooch here and there, you know how it went.
    When I hear some making it a priority to go “every” weekend it amazes me.
    Such wasted time one will never get back.,
    You and the Mrs enjoy the weekend too.

  3. kathy says:

    My husband and I highly recommend “Crazy Heart” with Jeff Bridges, if you haven’t seen it. That was last weekend’s movie, even watched it twice!
    Enjoy your blog very much.

  4. Kathryn D. says:

    YAY!!!! Happy Summer! 🙂

  5. Beckie says:

    And if you want to watch in your jammies, you can! There’s no traffic trying to get out of the theater, no standing in line waiting for tickets and no rude people (assuming you get along with your spouse.) The food is better and it’s a lot cheaper! We’re with you on this one, Gerry!

  6. You have made me very hungry for popcorn. Have a great holiday weekend.

  7. Ok I do agree about the remote and ‘On Demand’, there is also Netflix. A couple of weeks ago we watched Julie and Julia which I loved. We did have popcorn and iced cold drinks. We were nice and relaxed, no noise – well except for the dog chasing the cat or the cat chasing the dog. We also watched Invictus.

    Who would have thunk it? When we were kids couldn’t wait to go to a Drive In, now it’s ‘Let’s see what is On Demand’.

    Happy Memorial Day Weekend to all!

  8. If you watch a movie this weekend..go to HBO

    Taking Chance…it will make you think..

    God Bless America and the people who protect it.

Leave a Reply

