A Peaceful Storm

My life probably runs on a different clock than yours.  I get home from work around midnight.  And as luck would have it, my wife is getting home from her trips this month at about the same time.

We converged on the manor within minutes of each other early this morning, tired after long days, compounded by drives home lengthened by road construction.

The morning after.

And then the rains came.  And the thunder.  And the lightning. 

So we opened a garage door, put two patio chairs side-by-side, opened a bottle of white wine, and watched the show. 

A cool breeze blew away the long hot day, and the thunder substituted nicely for conversation.

One a.m.  An Inch moment.  Nice.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to A Peaceful Storm

  1. Beckie says:

    Wish our storm was as quiet. The first round we got hail like I’ve never seen or heard. Checked the windows to make sure none were broken, that’s just how hard it hailed. Baby was up screaming and terrified. Took an hr. to get her back to….in time for the next round. At least that was “just” thunder, lightning and wind. She slept thru that…and so did we.

  2. Cat says:

    You are such a romantic couple, don’t hear much of that anymore in this day and age.
    I sat on the sofa, blanket over head, hoping the power would not go out,,, yet again.

  3. Mary says:

    Sounds like the beginning of a good book Gerry……………. Maybe if the power didn’t go out I would have enjoyed the moment, maybe next time

  4. Linda says:

    I like your version of the storm so much more than mine! What a wonderful picture you painted! I’ll think of your version next time I yawn trying to stay awake here at work because of interrupted sleep.

  5. James says:

    Nature can put on a heck of a show, when we take the time to watch it. There’s nothing like sharing the moment with your soul-mate.

  6. Class act, Mr. Brooks. You guys know how to make the most of those moments. I like the picture.

  7. Steve says:

    Our ultimate neighborhood consists of Jerry Brooks, David Feherty, Anthony Bourdain, and John Hiatt among others. This small glimpse into your lifestyle soildifies your standing.

    • Gerry says:

      Thank you!
      But the hell with me…I’d love to knock back a couple with those guys (though Feherty says he’s on the wagon).

  8. It was nice hearing the thunder, and then looking straight ahead and saw the lightening flash through my second bedroom window. Now normally that would make me nervous, but my ‘babies’ (cat and dog), came into my lap. The dog doesn’t like the thunder and the cat walked away from one of his favorite spots (looking out the patio window.

    I heard the hail, and I sat her calmly petting my pets – all was right in the world!

  9. Lori says:

    Loved your inch moment link. My husband and I were in Ireland in 2004, visited Inch Beach and loved every minute. Your post reminded me of how much I miss Ireland, the pubs, the coastline, the scenery, but most importantly, the people. Now I just have to convince my husband we should spend the money to visit again.

  10. Kevin says:

    that’s living, all thats missing is State radio playing in the background with a couple Kayem frank on the grill.

  11. Kathryn D. says:

    I wish you many more moments like that! I enjoyed that surprise storm as well.
    The moon in the southern sky and the lightening to the north. We may have that scenario late again this evening!

    Have a wonderful holiday weekend. Should be great for golf!

Leave a Reply

