A Television Fable

Art Linkletter

Once upon a time, long before 500 channels of white noise and talking heads, the great god Orthicon bestowed upon our land of opportunity a man called Art.

Art lived in our Zeniths, Philcos and Magnavoxes, entertaining a generation of children and their moms in living black & white.

Linkletter died Wednesday at 97. (2006 photo)

While Captain Kangaroo and Miss Jean babysat us in the morning, Mom would join us later for Art’s happy programs, with names like “People Are Funny” and “House Party,” which begat “Kids Say the Darndest Things.”

We loved Art, and it appeared Art loved us right back.  You won’t find anyone like Art on any of those 500 channels we have now.

Thanks Art.  Rest in peace.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Living in the Past, News, People, TV Stuff and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Television Fable

  1. Beckie says:

    No one else indeed! Love watching the reruns of Kids Say The Darndest Things. There was a remake of KSTDT w/Bill Cosby. Unfortunately, it didn’t last. It was truly funny and CLEAN! I could watch it with my nieces and nephews or my parents/inlaws and not be embarrassed. We need more entertainment like that.
    RIP Mr. Linkletter. The world lost a good one today.

  2. Great guy. And multifaceted. The natatorium at Springfield College was named after him. And what a great idea for a show. Kids say the darndest things. They do. And what they say is more honest than 99 percent of what we hear from adults on TV these days.

    • Gerry says:

      As I read your comment, I looked up and saw Greta, Keith and AC all pontificating about something or other. I don’t know what, because I’ve never actually turned up the sound on their shows. And I have no plans to.

  3. Bill from Billings says:

    Like everyone else, I came home from school and gabbed a snack! While eating, I always watched Art’s ‘House Party”while munching( it was a big snack). I loved his interviews- remember- Art and the guest always stood on the stage…seems funny now, but it worked! I can remember clearly interviews with Vaughn Monroe on the Big Band Era, Frank Edwards on Flying Saucers, and Frankie Lane on singing.
    Fast forward to the 1990’s- I’m flying to Appleton, Wisconsin for a meeting with the newspaper. That afternoon I had picked up a copy of Art’s Bio from the cut-off rack at an airport bookstore. I read it cover to cover that night while flying( and taking a weather delay in Cincinnati). What an interesting man! What a great life! That night I sat down at the desk in my hotel room and wrote Art a letter, I thanked him for his book, and told him about enjoying his interviews on “House Party” in the 1960’s. The next morning I mailed the letter -care of the publisher- from Appleton. Three weeks later a personal letter arrived from Mr. Linkletter. The letter was just as interesting as his life! What a class act! I will miss him very much!

  4. I loved watching Art Linkletter, no matter which show he did. He had five shows running at the same time! They were clean, they were funny, most of the time he didn’t need to do anything to make it that way. The responses from the kids were fantastic!

    I also remember when his daughter passed away, our Social Studies Teacher had us write a report about drugs the same week. I endded up doing it on the song “Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds. This was due to what we heard how she passed away. I ended up crying for Mr. Linkletter. I even wrote him a letter about how sorry I was.

Leave a Reply

