Editorial Makeover

I am the dimmest of bulbs first thing in the morning.

Simmons

Schiff

But even in my diminished capacity (not that I’m all that bright at full capacity) I couldn’t help but notice that “non-campaigning” U.S. Senate candidate Rob Simmons looked unusually good in his page one, above-the-fold picture in the Hartford Courant.  (“Sources:  Simmons Out.”)  He had a better hairline, a firmer chin.

And then, as my eyes started to focus and the coffee began to take hold, I realized that the man in the picture above the caption “Simmons” was another candidate, Peter Schiff.

Mistake?  Sure, we all make them.  (Maybe it was even corrected by the time your edition was printed.)

Bad mistake?  Well, Schiff is a fine looking man. 

Come to think of it, you can put his picture above the caption “Brooks” any day.   He has better hair than me too.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Diatribes, Media, News, Noticed, People and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Editorial Makeover

  1. Beckie says:

    Gerry….you’re in news. Is this an acceptable error? When I worked for a newspaper, it most definitely was not. Especially front page, above the fold.
    This was a very avoidable mistake. It’s called proofing/proof-reading. But apparently, none of the papers do it anymore. Perhaps the position was cut due to budget constraints.

    • Gerry says:

      Beckie, it is most definitely not acceptable. I say that knowing we all live in the same glass house, and I would say the same thing if we did it. And I have.

      • Beckie says:

        I’m not saying mistakes never happen. They do. We once ran a piece from a state rep that was supposed to have her picture. What printed was a picture of a stump. And yes, we apologized to her personally and in the paper. But it wasn’t front page and it wasn’t “news.”

        I think Terry and Sharon have hit the nail on the head. Daily newspapers are dying. People are getting news from the Web, radio and TV. That being said, local (on the town level) news has to come from a newspaper, thus the influx of weeklies (where I worked.) Still no money to be made by the paper or the employees, though, and they serve as stepping stones for interns and new grads, which is fine. We all start somewhere. But the standard needs to be set higher. Simple grammer and spelling seem to have been put on the back burner (and not just in news.)
        And we, as a society, think that apologizing for errors big and small makes it all better. How about not doing it in the first place? (My mind flashes to Sarah Ferguson. How disappointing.)

  2. My ‘silly’ question is if the newspaper will say “We are sorry’ of if it will be just a ‘misprint’

    • Gerry says:

      I say we all make mistakes because we do. Twice in the last few days, we ran the wrong video on stories, so all I can say to the viewers is, “That’s the wrong video.”

  3. Terry Cowgill says:

    Gerry, I think what has happened is with all the lay-offs and early retirements at The Courant, in too many cases what remains in the newsroom are young reporters and editors who don’t know East Hartford from East Windsor, to say nothing of Simmons from Schiff.

    • Gerry says:

      There’s a lot to be said for institutional memory. And common sense too.

      • Duby says:

        You graciously pointed out that later editions of the paper might have included the correct photo. We get the final city edition and were also greeted by Peter Schiff, not Rob Simmons, while walking inside from the driveway retrieval. Oy.

      • Gerry says:

        Sorry to hear that. Ugh.

  4. Gerry, when you are on, doing your job, and there is an error, you do say ‘I’m sorry’, we then believe you even more. You let us know you are human. With a newspaper, there are times when the ‘errors’ are found after millions of copies have gone out. So what will happen there will be a ‘small’ blurb on the second page most of the time the next day, but you have to look for it. Of course there are the times in which the reader will forgot to look for that the next day.

    I go back to when ‘News’ were “News” it wasn’t about Lindsey Lohan either not showing up for Court, nor about what Jesse James did or didn’t do for Sandra Bullock I want to know what is going on ‘news what was going on in Middltown.

  5. Li'l Em-Cyni-Kel says:

    Ah, but Gerry, in a larger sense what difference does it make whose picture it is, who the candidates are, or who gets elected? To quote that powerful political duo, Sonny and Cher, “The Beat Goes On.” And on.

  6. My head’s spinning. I thought the guy on the right was you, Gerry. You with a new do. The wrong picture isn’t big news. When I was a reporter, the guy in the newsroom whose desk was next to mine got a name wrong in a front page story about a house fire. He killed off the deceased’s next door neighbor, who was alive and well. It was the second time in ten years the paper had reported this woman was dead when, in fact, the reports of her demise were greatly exaggerated. Her son called the city editor soon after his paper landed on the stoop.

    The reporter was dealt with immediately after the son’s call.

    Can you spell F-I-R-E?

    And li’l em. I wonder where Sonny would be now if he hadn’t hit that tree. I liked him a lot. Wish that beat was still going on.

  7. Unless you work for Theo Epstein. Then you get dealt with by getting dealt – to the Dodgers for example.

    But your point is well taken. It’s amazing what people get away with these days.

Leave a Reply

