How To Pick Up Girls

"Hi, I'm Mark. I'm worth $4,000,000,000." (That's billion, if you didn't recognize all those zeroes.)

Be worth four-billion dollars like Mark Zuckerberg, one of the founders of Facebook.  Turned 26 ten days ago.

I really didn’t know anything about young Mr. Zuckerberg until I happened to see this article about concerns over privacy and security for Facebook users.  (I solved that problem long ago by putting very little personal information on my Facebook page, not that it can’t be dug up somewhere else).

I was comforted to read that Master Markie Z. says Facebook’s core principles include seeking “a better world” that’s more “open and connected.”

Ambitious. 

But I think Betty White was closer to the truth in her opening monologue on SNL.

“I really have to thank Facebook… I didn’t know what Facebook was, and now that I do know what it is, I have to say, it sounds like a huge waste of time.”

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Digital World, Noticed, People and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to How To Pick Up Girls

  1. I haven’t jumped on the Facebook or Twitter bandwidthwagons. Blogging doesn’t take much of my time, and it’s a way to connect and reconnect. I’ll draw the line there.

    • Gerry says:

      Excellent discipline, Mr. McCarthy. But these days, we media types have to hop on all the social media to…to…ummmm…let me get back to you with the rest of that sentence.

  2. Beckie says:

    It IS a great time-waster. And I love it! 🙂
    I’ve reconnected with old friends, made new ones and even connected with relatives I’d lost touch with, including my older half-brother! I’ve also discovered new relatives in my grandfather’s village in Italy.
    The games on FB allow me to escape, even if just for a little bit.

  3. I have to admit, I love and sometimes don’t like Facebook. I also went to the Betty White to be a host for SNL when it came about.
    I have ‘ran’ into people that I haven’t seen since High School, one from Jr. High, people I worked with, and of course my relatives. I get to talk to my son more on Facebook than I do on the phone!

    If I don’t ‘talk’ to some of the people that I play games with, they get worried about me. If it weren’t for Facebook, I wouldn’t have been able to raise over $1400.00 for a Fund Raiser I was involved with due to an illness I have. Nor would I have gotten so involved with being an Advocate for people with Multiple Sclerosis, which I was diagnosed with 13 years ago. I wouldn’t have met some wonderful people that I have, here in my home state of Connecticut.

  4. Being in radio….Facebook and Twitter was just another use to..uh..to…
    yada, yada, yada..and I love it!

  5. pete says:

    but gerry, if it wasn’t for your blog or your facebook, how often would we get to talk?

Leave a Reply

