A Bad Word

I will leave the political commentating on Dick Blumenthal to the political commentators.  It’s become such a crowded field (the commentators, not the pols) that there’s barely room for one more, and if there is, it’s not going to be me.

But let me say this about that.  (I love that line.)

I don’t like the word “misspoke.”  And not being a psychologist, I don’t understand how one can  “misspeak” about something truly important or personal.

On the other hand, I also don’t understand why someone would spend tens of millions of dollars to get a job that pays $174,000, though the bennies are really good.

But that’s why I’m not a political commentator.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Diatribes, News, People, Politics and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to A Bad Word

  1. Linda says:

    I like what you said about that. Misspoke – another way to say “I lied”. I just don’t understand politicians/politics.

  2. Mike says:

    …as ever was…

  3. rick says:

    Gerry, I agree. I never liked the term “misspoke. It never really explained anything. So, let’s play with that word for a moment.. misspoke…..miss poke I think there is a clear connection there . Someone gettin .. Well, You know

  4. Lori says:

    Why would anyone spend tens of millions of dollars to get a job that pays $174,000? Egomaniac???

  5. Cat says:

    It was indeed hard to watch.
    Here was a man who most thought was such a gentleman, a man who just might be the real deal.
    Today, as I stood watching him trying to put a “spin” on things he has said, pointing possible blame to people of the media and Linda’s Camp, made me realize he really is no better than most who are holding seats in Washington.
    Its a sad day for those in Ct, are we shocked, no, I think we all took off the rose colored glasses many, many years ago………..

  6. JaPalm says:

    I misspoke too. When I said I was in the Olympics, I meant I was in Vancouver attending the games.

  7. Li'l Em-Kel says:

    Blumenthal sports a snaky, reptilian countenance that reminds me of the Great Liar himself. CT will elect him easily and he will thrive in DC. Just like his snow-white predecessor.

  8. One word explanation

    “Ego”

  9. Kathryn D. says:

    That reminds me of a statement made over a decade ago by then President Bill Clinton, “that depends on what the meaning of ‘is’ is”.

    Gerry, I respect your decision. My new blog year resolution? To refrain from making comments on political stories.

    Have a great Wednesday, all! 🙂

  10. WeatherMom says:

    Hey Gerry:
    Even though I like the guy and think he’s done a lot of great things, “misspoke” unfortunately translates to “lied.” It is what it is (as Hillary Clinton found out when she “misspoke” and instead of dodging snipers in Bosnia had to dodge the media and political adversaries!) How quickly careers built on years of service (I’m thinking SB as well) can go from great to awful in the blink of a few keystrokes. Politics just continue to get dirtier and dirtier and the mentality of those desperate to win and what they will do to win obviously has no limits. Certainly not justifying that he “misspoke” but there have been plenty who have done far worse and are still in office. A very sad world that we live in!

  11. Gerry says:

    Lots of thoughtful comments. Thank you all.

Leave a Reply

