A Chink in the Armor?

Twitter is abuzz tonight with the New York Times story questioning Dick Blumenthal’s service record.

There is apparently a significant difference between what his Vietnam-era service record was, and what he has said it was. 

He admits to the Times that he “misspoke.”  

But this is a rare misstep for a very careful and guarded individual.  It’ll be interesting to see how he deals with it.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Media, News, People, Politics and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Chink in the Armor?

  1. Chip Gorra says:

    Hmmm: there are public officials, particularly ones who profess to take the moral high ground, who are not as they have portrayed themselves: remember Eliot Sptizer? There are some striking parallels here.

  2. Kevin says:

    Chip, thats a reach. I’m putting on my Stossel stache and telling you “gimmie a break”.

  3. This is right from the NY Times article- almost buried in it:
    <>

    He saw it in print- but why didn’t he do anything to correct the story?

    Gerry, looks like it is now chinks- plural- in Dick’s armor.

  4. For some reason this did not appear above:

    In two largely favorable profiles, the Slate article and a magazine article in The Hartford Courant in 2004 with which he cooperated, Mr. Blumenthal is described prominently as having served as captain of the swim team at Harvard. Records at the college show that he was never on the team.

    Mr. Blumenthal said he did not provide the information to reporters, was unsure how it got into circulation and was “astonished” when he saw it in print.

  5. James says:

    The cynical side of me says, “Another politician who lied – what else is new?” But as a Vet I get particularly aggrevated by those people who would re-write their history to inflate their egos and/or impress others.

    One can only wonder why, after all these years- including nomintion as a Federal judge, no other media outlet bothered to check the veracity of Dick’s comments. Ever since being elected as AG, he’s been a media whore who (it now appears) would sell his soul for 30 seconds of TV face time.

    And of course we now have the modern mea culpa – I didn’t lie! I merely misspoke. This probably won’t cost him the election because as the old saying goes – You can’t beat someone with no one. But then maybe Susan Bysiewicz can file for the Senate seat if the Supreme Court says she’s unqualified for the AG position.

  6. The video at the end of the NY Times story is damning evidence of Blumenthal’s misrepresentation. He does not say in his speech, ” I am a Vietnam veteran. ” That would have been understandable and forgivable. I served in the Air Force between 1967 and 1971. That was at the height of the war. I was shipped overseas ( To England ) and served my country there between 1969 and 1971. I served during the war, but not in the war, per se. An argument could be made ( by a lawyer perhaps) that all G.I.s during that time were de facto combatants, playing roles that supported the troops who were ” in country. ”

    So if I were to say I am a Vietnam vet, I wouldn’t be lying. But if I were to say, as Blumenthal said, ” I was IN Vietnam. ”

    Whole other story.

    Maybe the video shows Blumenthal ” misspeaking. ” But given how much other evidence there is out there that he got no closer to the rice paddies than I did…

    It’s a slip alright. But not of the tongue.

Leave a Reply

