Two Movies

“It’s Complicated” really wasn’t.  Though it could have been called “It’s Boring.”

Witty. Urbane. Boring.

Really.  How could you want to yell “Will you please shut the &%$! up” at characters played by Meryl Streep, Alec Baldwin and Steve Martin? 

For the matter, how could Steve Martin take a role that’s as stimulating as a half-melted bowl of vanilla ice cream? 

That was Saturday night.  On Sunday night, we watched “Crazy Heart,” the film that Jeff Bridges earned all those awards for.

And within five minutes, I understood why Jeff Bridges won an Academy Award in a show that Alec Baldwin and Steve Martin were relegated to hosting.

Career choices.  So subjective.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Diatribes, People and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Two Movies

  1. Alex says:

    I believe what you meant to say was “the dude abides.”

  2. Get the soundtrack CD from ” Crazy Heart. ” Bridges sings most of the tunes. I give it a 10 our of ten. Great beat and you can dance the Texas Two Step to it.

    Great CD!

    I liked it so much I went out and bought a ( cheap, straw ) cowboy hat. I give all hat and no cattle new meaning. I look like a complete idiot in it, and that’s before people find out this hombre is a Massachusetts native.

    Gotta go. I got some fencing on the north 40 ( square feet ) that needs mending. And my horse ( Jeopardy Champion ) is getting restless.

  3. Gerry,
    Wow- something else we agree on!
    I actually saw it in the theater- being a good husband- because my wife wanted to see it.
    I just figured that was the price I had to pay for seeing a chick flick.
    btw- She will be seeing “Sex and the City 2” with her friends, not me.
    Once bitten, twice shy.

Leave a Reply

