So Long, Sam

“Law & Order” canceled. 

Twenty years is a hell of a run, and to end in a tie with “Gunsmoke” for prime time longevity is to be in the best of company.

There’s still “SVU,” “CI,” and this fall, “L & O Los Angeles,” to be known as “LOLA” (Where they drink champagne and it tastes just like cherry cola.  Sorry I had to).

But here’s what I didn’t know.  “Law & Order,” the mothership, supported many more people than Sam Waterston and the cast.

And there is some good news from the Peacock too.  Apparently, a remake of “The Rockford Files” is dead.  Good.  James Garner was Rockford, and there’s only one James Garner.

So there.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in News, People, TV Stuff and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to So Long, Sam

  1. Beckie says:

    L&O kind of lost it for me when Jack became acting DA. Then again, I was still longing for the days of Adam Schiff.
    L&O is one of those shows that we’ll be able to watch 20 yrs. from now and it’ll still be interesting (albeit, the forensic technology will have changed.) There are very few shows that have that staying power—I Love Lucy, MASH, Everybody Loves Raymond, just to name a few over the years. As much as I loved CSI (haven’t watched it since Grissom left,) I don’t think the same could be said of it.
    Besides, L&O will live on in reruns on USA forever.

    • Joan says:

      I’m really going to miss the original L&O! I can’t believe they’ve cancelled it and are introducing ANOTHER one (with a stupid name). That kind of makes me mad, actually. I liked all the new faces they introduced in recent seasons too.

  2. I will miss Law and Order! I have been a faithfull and loyal watcher. The past year with some of the guest stars have been great.

    True on anybody trying to be Rockford will be a diservice to those of us only sees James Garner (who I have had a secret crush on).

    As for the ‘LOLA’ comment, yeah it’s ok, fits in there someway. 🙂

  3. Now Sam gets more time to spend in Cornwall….that’s not a bad thing!

  4. ann says:

    i’m sorta sad about this. i mean yeah, the actors on the show will leave with good memories but they were one more season shy of a record. That’s a huge thing to go for if you ask me, and i havent seen the show from season 1 to now.

Leave a Reply

