The Last Time I Saw You

That’s the name of a very short novel I just read, written by Elizabeth Berg. 

I didn’t buy it for the author (I’d never heard of her), or the title, or the book cover.  I bought it for its subject matter.  A bunch of 50-somethings getting ready for their 40th and final high school reunion.  Being a member of a high school class of ’70 (OK, it was the late great Framingham North), how could I resist?

The book was just OK.  I suspected Berg was a so-called “women’s writer,” but that’s fine by me because I like women and I do wear makeup five days a week.

I suppose I went looking for myself in the book, but I didn’t find me.  That’s because I was delightfully average.  Never the best in anything, never the worst.  Just plain average, which is not the stuff of novels.

My averageness made for a generally enjoyable four-year period of my life, which my class has celebrated with reunions every five years.  I have been to each and every one, though I have yet to hear whether we’ll have a 40th.

The biggest mystery in the book, I thought, was why the 40th high school reunion was going to be the last.  Why not 50?  Why not beyond?

And the biggest mystery as I contemplated this milestone for my class was: 40 years already?  Really? 

It doesn’t seem possible.   I’m too young.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, Living in the Past, Noticed and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to The Last Time I Saw You

  1. Dan McCarthy says:

    For what it’s worth, I think you’re one of the best at what you do.

  2. RJM says:

    Love the part about wearing woman’s make-up!

    • Gerry says:

      Now you’ve raised the question…is all makeup “women’s” makeup? (Actually, I never considered it before and probably never will again.)

  3. Mary says:

    Gerry the years tend to fly by when you’re having fun and so far so good. My oldest just turned 24, so that would make me……………. where did the time go ?

  4. Dee says:

    My oldest son is turning 30, what the …….I thought I was 30? Midlife has some really creepy moments. It’s helpful to know you’re not alone. Thanks Gerry.

  5. Mary says:

    Absolutely Gerry, cheers to you !

  6. Linda B. says:

    Gerry,
    Your age is only a number. It is your mind set that counts!! I think the key is to stay positive…and look for the fun in everything, which is what you do so well!!

    Linda

  7. Steve says:

    “I’d rather die while I’m living than live while I’m dead”. A philosophy to live by with a little help from Jimmy Buffet

  8. Li'l EM-Kel says:

    I like Satchel Paige’s take on this: “How old would you be if you didn’t know how old you was?”

    (And he didn’t)

Leave a Reply

