A Post Post

I suppose this was inevitable.  The Washington Post company is selling Newsweek magazine.

Newsweek and Time have rendered themselves irrelevant, except for the fact they supply an endless stream of talking heads to the cable news networks.

Still, I feel a personal pang, because I worked for Post-Newsweek Stations when it owned WFSB.  PNS for short.

Will they become the Post Stations?  PS for short?

And will they make employees sing, “PS, I Love You?”

Yes, I’m here to ask the tough questions.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, Media, Noticed and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Post Post

  1. David Broder says:

    I forgot what I was going to write.

  2. Chip Gorra says:

    Got a lot of time on your hands, eh, Gerry?

  3. Chip

    You just hit a responsive chord.

    ” Got a lot of time on your hands, eh, Gerry? ”

    What you typed is one of my pet peeves. I loathe that passive agressive phrase, which implies that the person at whom it is directed doesn’t have anything better to do than…

    Anyone who reads this blog should know that Gerry is quick witted and can think on his feet. He does this, I think, because it’s fun. It connects him to folks he’s unable to connect with directly as they watch him anchor the news.

    I have a blog. It could be asked of me, ” Got a lot of time on your hands? ” It takes me a few minutes to type what I type. I was a reporter, as Gerry is. Deadlines have conditioned me to write fast. With almost no time on my hands. Or my watch.

    Maybe you didn’t mean it as an insult, but I took it that way. Gerry?

    • Gerry says:

      I think Chip was responding to the tone of the post, light and airy, just like me. Well, airy.
      I actually had a rather visceral reaction to the news, since I recently checked on my PNS pension to make sure it was still there. And you’re right, the post was the equivalent of a two-minute drill.
      Anyway, thank you for having my back. Much appreciated.

  4. Susan G says:

    I finally cancelled my Newsweek subscription (of nearly 40-year standing) when it quit being a news magazine and became a collection of opinion pieces. They were even highlighting and bolding the words that I was supposed to pay attention to. Fine- they can read it for me, too!

Leave a Reply

