The Terrorist Next Door

Here’s what strikes me most about the Times Square suspect from Connecticut.  If you didn’t know his name, his face and his story by now, Faisal Shahzad could be your next door neighbor.

Do you know your next door neighbor?

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in News, Noticed, People and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Terrorist Next Door

  1. I have to admit, that I know a couple of the people by face in my apartment building. I will also have to admit, I don’t know too many of their names.

  2. There’s a 1999 movie with this very plot. Jeff Bridges plays a college professor who suspects his neighbor, played by Tim Robbins, of being a sleeper cell terrorist. Flick’s ” Arlington Road. ” Check it out.

    By the way, I suspect that several of my neighbors may be al qaeda operatives. I’ve seen many of them, through my Carolina Room window, leaving bags unattended. Bags that appear to full of long, rod like things that might be parts that when put together, might do damage. And these people all wear the same kind of clothing – not uniforms actually – but the same kinds of caps and shirts and weird shoes.

    And they travel around in these little carts, some of which I see parked in strange places. Unattended. Potential cart bombs?

    Call me paranoid, but I’m just reporting what I’m seeing down here.

  3. Li'l Em-Kel says:

    Neighbors?

    I have neighbors?

    • Gerry says:

      I’m next door. Wave hi!

      • Joan says:

        I’ve got a neighbor that I wouldn’t be surprised AT ALL to hear you report some day, Gerry, that he has done something weird or cult-like. He keeps dumpsters and/or storage pods in his yard for stretches of time that we have questioned what is going on over there. But this guy, Faisal, I wouldn’t have given a second thought to.

      • Gerry says:

        Faisal actually looks like a friend of mine. As for your neighbor…that is unfortunate.

  4. It is true that he does look like a ‘normal’ person. Not somebody who would be making a bomb. I know he has said he had receieved training on how to make the bomb, but if he did, then is the reason he left is due to the reason he took off?

    People in NYC normally do not look at a person right in the face? They normally look down, or they are listening to music or have other things on their mind. So, there were many ways in which he had been caught:
    1) The video
    2) The sticker on the car where it was sold the first time
    3) The girl who sold him the SUV on Craig’s List
    4) He left his own keys in the SUV (I know that would have been a long time to see who they belonged to)
    5) Paying cash for everything. Who does that these days?

    I do have a problem though with the airline. They admitted that they don’t look at the No Fly List. I thought that if somebody is buying a one way ticket out of the US and paying in cash would be a HUGE reason to look at the No Fly List. Then again, he wasn’t put on the list until after he got on the plane.

Leave a Reply

