Wrap Your Hand Around This

The man who designed the so-called “Anthora” coffee cup has died.

From the New York Times article:   The Anthora has spawned a flock of imitations by competitors over the years, but it was first designed by Mr. (Leslie) Buck for the Sherri Cup Company in Kensington, Conn.

Who knew?

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Noticed, People and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Wrap Your Hand Around This

  1. Beckie says:

    Not too shabby for a town that technically doesn’t exist, huh? (and I say that with all the love in the world. I live in that non-existent town. In fact, Sherri Cup was in my back yard, almost literally.)

  2. Gerry says:

    Being from the Saxonville part of Framingham, I concur completely.

  3. Li'l Em-Kel says:

    WRAP MY HAND AROUND IT ?! That’s crazy!

    The first time I did that was the LAST time I did it. Scaldissimo City!

    Now I carefully deploy the little paper cup handles and avoid catastrophe while, pinkie aloft, I enjoy my joe.

  4. Kevin says:

    I once dated a girl from Fairfield, who thought those fancily designed cups were for collecting change, her name was Linda. I often wonder whatever became of her.

  5. Mike Watt says:

    Gerry
    The best evolution of this iconic cup is the Museum of Modern Art’s CERAMIC version that not only mimics the artwork, but even has a raised seam, just like the cardboard version.
    Mike

Leave a Reply

