Lucky to Be Alive

From our 11pm news, as last seen on the teleprompter:

NEW RESEARCH SUGGESTS THAT HAVING 4 COMMON BAD HABITS CAN AGE YOU BY 12 YEARS. 

THE BAD HABITS ARE SMOKING, DRINKING TOO MUCH, NOT GETTING ENOUGH PHYSICAL ACTIVITY AND A POOR DIET.

THE STUDY TRACKED NEARLY 5,000 BRITISH ADULTS FOR 20 YEARS.

OF THOSE WITH ALL 4 BAD HABITS, 29% DIED. THAT COMPARES TO 8% OF THE PEOPLE WHO DIDN’T HAVE THOSE BAD HABITS.

Whenever we air a story like this, I wonder how I’ve survived this long.  (Not really.) 

At one time or another, I’ve thoroughly enjoyed each of the four bad habits.   (Often all at once.) 

And I’m pretty sure that even those who have none of the bad habits will die too.  (Sooner or later.)

I look forward to the day when I read a study headlined, “More people with no bad habits are bored to death.”

Literally.

 

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Diatribes, Health, News, TV Stuff and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Lucky to Be Alive

  1. Alex says:

    It maybe stands to reason that I just got done having a cigarette on the way back from a dinner which consisted entirely of nachos and beer, but hell — I’m in grad school. No time for adequate physical activity.

    (something about “enjoying the metabolism while it lasts,” no doubt)

  2. Ken Davis says:

    Gerry, at times like this I always turn to the great philosopher, Jimmy Buffett. To quote his song, Bank of Bad Habits, “One by one they’ll do you in, They’re bound to take their toll, The wrong thing is the right thing until you lose control.”

    Then, of course, he lists the 7 Deadly Sins:

    1. Pride…Thou shalt not have pride in thy neighbor.
    2. Coveting…Thou shalt not covet thy neighbor’s wife.
    3. Lust…Thou shalt not lust after his neighbor’s wife.
    4. Anger…Do not be angry with your neighbor’s wife.
    5. Gluttony…Do not eat thy neighbor’s wife’s ……..popcorn.
    6. Envy…Do not envy your neighbor’s wife.
    7. Sloth…Do not be a slob.
    And the eighth deadly sin is…………PIZZA!

    Hopefully that makes you feel better.

  3. Kathryn D. says:

    I was ready to put money on the idea you were going to blog this story! I guess it all goes to quality of life while we here….cannot predict lenght of timey! It is just when I am sitting down to watch NBC Conn. News at 11 pm ..I need a snack!

  4. Mary says:

    I’m with you Gerry, on the way to the gym at night, I’m always wondering if it’s worth it. On Saturday night when we’re deciding where to wet our whistle, you couldn’t wipe the smile off my face, I’m sure it has something to do with the people were out with, but the spirits sure help.

  5. Jim says:

    I don’t care what they say about your habits Ger, you look great for 37……

  6. Scott says:

    My guess is 100% of the people in that study will die. Some will just enjoy the time alive more than others. 🙂

  7. James says:

    Gerry – I’ve adopted several quotes over the years to address the situation that you raised –

    I know a man who gave up smoking, drinking, sex, and rich food. He was healthy right up to the time he killed himself.
    – Johnny Carson

    The only thing I regret about my life is the length of it. If I had to live my life again, I’d make all the same mistakes – only sooner.
    – Tallulah Bankhead

    “In the end, it’s not the years in your life that count. It’s the life in your years.”
    – Abraham Lincoln

    I voluntarily gave up smoking & drinking many years ago, and my wife has assured me that if I chase loose women it will be sans certain parts of my anatomy – so I now indulge myself with gourmet coffee and only read the studies that say coffee is good for you… 🙂

  8. Mike Watt says:

    Gerry
    Skimming down the list of your latest blogs, here is the thumbnail for this one:

    From our 11pm news, as last seen on the teleprompter: NEW RESEARCH SUGGESTS THAT HAVING 4 COMMON BAD HABITS CAN AGE YOU BY 12 YEARS. THE BAD HABITS ARE SMOKING, DRINKING TOO MUCH, NOT GETTING ENOUGH…

    Which would make one think that “not getting enough” is one of the four.

    Mike

Leave a Reply

