A Man of Dignity

The “Core Four” of the New York Yankees makes the cover of Sports Illustrated this week.  Mariano Rivera, Derek Jeter, Jorge Posada, and Andy Pettitte.

So this seems to be a good time to come out of the closet with this:  Mariano Rivera is my favorite baseball player.  There, I said it.  (And Derek Jeter’s not far behind.)

I don’t believe athletes are role models, but if you really need to point your kid at someone to emulate, Rivera will more than do.  Reggie Jackson, who always held himself in high esteem, was effusive in this illuminating article in the New York Times.

 
 
 
 
With Pres. Obama on Monday.

“For what he does, he’s maybe the most dominant athlete other than Bill Russell that I know.  But it’s also in the way he does it. Quiet. Humble. Mariano is regal, baseball royalty.”  (Reggie Jackson)

And for the way he carries himself, Rivera is the only athlete ever asked to endorse Canali, the high end men’s clothier.  Not all-world A-Rod.  Not high profile Jeter. 

Mariano.  The guy who looks as classy in a suit as he does in pinstripes. 

Of course, I think he’d look even better with a “B” on his cap, but I had to say that.  Didn’t want you to think I jumped ship or something.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Noticed, People, Sports and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to A Man of Dignity

  1. heather says:

    such a huge confession in such a public forum…i’m proud of you.

  2. Barb says:

    Wow, I thought Framingham was gonna ask for its key back, right up until the end… 🙂

  3. hendu says:

    It’s ok Gerry, my favorite baseball player of all time is the Mick, so we all have our crosses to bare (bear?).

  4. And you thought the “so be it” letter was bad..just wait till the Red Sox blogs get a hold of this posting…..I hate to say it Gerry, but your NEVER gonna anchor in Boston now…unless it’s in the harbor around your ankles!!!!

  5. Kevin says:

    Like a Rock, thats’s Mo.

  6. WeatherMom says:

    Hey Gerry:
    I enjoy your blog…been a Red Sox fan since the Boston Strangler was running around Boston (I was a kid then) in a family full of Yankee fans, and I would never openly admit to liking a Yankee but I do like Mariano and I do hope some day he becomes a Red Sox before he is done playing. He is a class act!

  7. Mary says:

    It doesn’t matter what a decent person wears on the outside, ( even, YUK Yankee pinstripes )it all about the human being inside and how he carries himself. Cleansing always feels good, way to go Gerry.

  8. Bruce Berlet says:

    Ger, you’re as classy as Mariano to admit he’s your favorite player. Even a Red Sox fan can’t find a much better role model than Mo. Good job saying so.

  9. Bob Porrazzo says:

    Gerry, that takes guts to do what you just did, especially coming from a dye-in-the-wool Red Sox fan.

    But come on man, be honest, are you saying this because the Sox won the whole ball of wax in ’04 and ’07, wit perhaps ’04 being the most satisfying???

  10. Bob Porrazzo says:

    And yes I will say, Mariano Rivera, the best **** closer in baseball, carries himself with such a charm about him, his role as closer almost seems to be deceptive in nature.

Leave a Reply

