Street Sweeping Season

It’s that time of the year.  Always happy to see winter’s grime swept away, but today, on a state road (not a highway), I saw the street sweeper flanked by two dump trucks.

From Elgin website.

I’m all for safety (“Let ’em work, let ’em live.”), but that street sweeper is a brute.  To be precise, it’s an Elgin Broom Bear.  A rather sturdy vehicle, I have to believe that, in the event of a car-Broom Bear accident, the Broom Bear wins every time.

According to the website:  The Broom Bear is one of the most rugged and efficient mechanical sweepers on the market today. Whether your sweeping needs are in heavy construction debris or light street maintenance, the Broom Bear can handle it all.

So in a tight economy, and with the high price of fuel, you have 3 people in 3 vehicles doing the job of one.   I’m thinking one dump truck (to deposit the collected grime) would be dandy.  Then again, this is not my area of expertise, though I do do windows. 

By the way, if you’d like a Broom Bear of your own, there’s a dealer in North Haven.

You’re welcome.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Diatribes, Noticed and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Street Sweeping Season

  1. Gerry's Mentor says:

    I’m thinking that Sharon may be able to offer some insight.

  2. Li'l Em-Kel says:

    Good one, GM!

  3. rick says:

    Gerry, Welcome to the public works way of thinking when it comes to road maintenance. Too much is never enough. Can not have left over money in the road budget.

  4. Lacey says:

    Hey Gerry,

    Nice post. I was running the other week when i saw a street sweeper coming down one side of the very small street i was on, and a huge state dump truck sitting on the other side. I’m like, “Really? Is that necessary??” I’ve never seen that before! It’s not even like the truck was protecting the broom guy!! Oh well. Que serra serra i guess. 🙂

  5. Gerry says:

    It just seems a tad excessive.

Leave a Reply

