T.M.I.

I’ve never understood why someone would want the world to know they spent $6,450 for a nose job.  Or where in the world they’re having lunch.  And with whom they’re lunching.  And how much lunch cost.  And who paid.

Facebook.  LinkedIn.  Twitter.  T.M.I.   Too much information. 

And according to this New York Times article, there’s no end in sight.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Digital World, Noticed and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to T.M.I.

  1. Yep, more reasons for me not to Tweet!

  2. ann says:

    i would NOT wanna be someone who spends more than 2minutes tweeting about life that’s worth less than my paycheck or constantly updating people on where i am or what i do.

    Twitter, for me, is to see the basic news stories (like closings from an ever-so-valuable network like NBCCONNECTICUT) or to see what hilarious tweets people are putting together. Other than that, just leave your status where it is and move on. Go outside, find a tree to sit under and read a dang book lol.

  3. Lori says:

    I often wonder about this growing inclination to share so much about oneself on-line, to connect in cyberspace….and yet our day to day, face to face interactions with one another have a tendency at times to be brief, harried and disconnected because of the “frantic” pace in which we live.

  4. ricksterdean says:

    Lori, Amen!!!!

  5. Jst brushed teeth. Drkning coffee now. O.J. to follow ( Not Simpson. Tht would be scary! ) May mow lawn. Off to the bthroom now. More later.

  6. Kathryn D. says:

    Lori is right on the money!!! I could not have said it better.

    Terrence……waiting for more later!! LOL!!! 🙂

    I am thoroughly amused.

    TMI for sure. Thank you, Gerry.

    • Joan says:

      The other thing that amazes me these days is how many people are on their cell phones either talking or texting CONSTANTLY. How much do you have to say or text!! I see people walking out of the grocery store typing a text msg (or tweet or whatever!). Really, it’s THAT important?!. Remember the old days when we had to use a pay phone to call someone? How did we ever get by without having constant contact with EVERYONE!? I have to admit that I always have my phone with me, but I’m not always ON it.

  7. ugly mike says:

    The problem with Lori’s statement is (no offense, Lori), she is assuming we all have time for face to face, and in a lot of people’s lives (mine included) we just don’t. It’s a frantic pace I choose for my life, but I chose/live it…

    • Lori says:

      I am sorry if my statement sounded judgmental. I didn’t mean to be. I guess what I was trying to say is that I find it hard to understand people who have the propensity and the time to share the most mundane things on-line and yet limit their human interactions because of lack of time in their lives. Now excuse me while I….paint my toenails and pluck my eyebrows! I’m getting up now.

  8. Kathryn D. says:

    Joan-I wonder the same thing. Just what is so important? Talking in the store, while driving, while pumping gas, waiting in the doctor’s office, in the hair salon, in restaurants,etc. Either I am not that important or I guess I do not have anything to say. I do not comprehend the need to convey every detail. I keep my cell phone with me for emergencies as well. It is very difficult to find pay phones anywhere anymore.

  9. Kevin says:

    I just found a gray in my shoulder hair, l8trs.

  10. Gerry says:

    Thank you all for your intelligent conversation. Terrence, Kevin, please see me after class.

  11. Li'l Em-Kel says:

    Did I ever tell you guys about my operation?

Leave a Reply

